Early morning errands and audits

Automobile dealership - service and repair are...

Automobile dealership – service and repair area. This facility is located at: 755 Rockville Pike. Rockville, MD 20852. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I got up fairly early today.  I wanted to take my car in to the GMC dealership to get the oil changed and have everything checked out.  One good thing about being out and about early in the morning…not a lot of other people are!!  I got to the dealership and they were able to take my car right in…I was in and out in less than half an hour!

I have to say, I’ve never liked taking my car in to be serviced.  It seems like, as a woman, the mechanics always talked down to me…assuming I didn’t know anything about cars (granted, I don’t know a lot about them, but I am paying the people who do possess the knowledge to do the work…that should count for something, I’d think).  But today was actually a pleasant experience.  Every single person I came into contact with at the dealership was polite, friendly, and treated me with respect!  Wow!  That doesn’t happen every day, does it?

Seriously, don’t you love it when you get great customer service?  It just makes the rest of your day better!  And the rest of my day went pretty well…I stopped at the grocery store to pick up a few things to take to work for lunch and snacks for the next five days (yes, I’ll be working this weekend…boo).  After leaving Kroger, I drove straight home.  So I was back home in just over an hour and a half!  Nice!

I did a little gardening…well, honestly what I did was pull weeds…how in the world do they grow so fast?  Oh, right…rain and warm temps…simple.  Even had time for a nice nap.  I’m going to try to get to bed at a decent hour tonight…have to be at the doctor’s office at 7 am to have labs done for a biometric screening for my health insurance through work.  I’m not waiting until the last-minute this year~~

Then I got on Facebook for a while.  One of the store managers from the Indy area posted that the auditor in our area resigned!! What?  Hmm…I wonder what that means for us…will it be a while before they manage to fill that position?  Does that mean we’re less likely to be audited?  Hey… I just thought of something.  I’ve always said I’d like that job…maybe I should look into that one!  Only bad thing, it involves a lot…I mean a LOT of traveling…what about poor little Spook?  So…if it comes down to a contest between a job as an auditor and taking care of Spook…well, not much of a contest…Spook wins!

10 Responses

  1. Glad you have a good dealership. I think they really strive to have great customer service–too much competition. Glad you got in a nap, that doesn’t happen often. Spook is blessed to have you. 🙂

    • I think you’re right, Patti…there is a lot of competition out there in that industry…see the above comment from the GM custumer service rep…having said that, the folks working there really were nice and considerate…and that is never a bad thing.

  2. My first thought was Go For It!!! A new job with the same company, sounds like a plan. Spooky getting along fine at home. She(he?) would be even happier to see you when you come home. Not that I’ve had a lot of jobs but I would always sit down and make a list of pros and cons for both jobs. Taking a leap of faith when it comes to your income can be scary. Have a great day.

    • Thanks, Margaret…who knows what the situation was with her resigning? I’ll have to investigate it further…I just hate the thought of leaving Spook home all week by herself…not sure I could do that to her.

  3. Thank you very much for your post! I’m very happy you have an excellent GMC dealership and appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience. We always value feedback, and if you ever have vehicle questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me!

    Many happy miles,

    Katie, GM Customer Service
    (GM Social Media Team)

  4. In my previous job (I left last Sept) I was the district auditor for a national retailer. I very much enjoyed the job; I loved being in a different store every day, working with different people, doing training and working to actually help the stores. But I burnt out on it after 6 years. It sucked walking into a store and having the employees say, are you here to audit today, and when I said no they responded, oh, well it’s good to see you then. Every once in a while I miss it, but then I think about driving more than 40,000 miles a year and having to be at work at 5am for inventory and I get over it. lol

    • I know, I’ve always joked with the auditor that it must be a blow to your self esteem to have everyone greet you with, “Oh crap..it’s the auditor.”

      • Though to be fair, I knew what I was getting into. Before taking that job I was a store admin assistant and I used to pull up to the stoplight in front of my store and say to myself, “Crap, there’s the auditor’s car.” lol

    • Yeah, I think any of us who have been in retail management for any amount of time understand that! But I do think I’d enjoy it, for a while anyhow.

Leave a Reply

