The long and winding road to fitness, day 2

Dried fruit and nuts on a platter, traditional...

Image via Wikipedia

It was a hectic day at work today, but I managed to resist the temptation of the vending machine!!  The thought of a bag of chips did cross my mind, but then I reminded myself of what I was working toward…health and fitness.  And the thought flitted right out of my mind!!

I got up at 4:30 this morning so I could get in some exercise before work…rode the exercise bike for 10 minutes, walked for 10 minutes, did lower body strength training (4 sets) and then walked 10 minutes at lunch.  I also did about 5 minutes of stretching…I should do another 5 minutes or so tonight closer to bed time…we’ll see how that goes.

I had the same breakfast as yesterday.  Lunch was quinoa and black bean salad and a bowl of cooked apples.  I had a snack in the morning of 1 cup of grapes and 1 serving of string cheese.  I had my own “trail mix” for an afternoon snack (Wheat Chex and dried fruit, sometimes I throw nuts in it too, but didn’t do that today).  Dinner was a bowl of soup and 1 slice of rye bread.  I also have to admit that I did eat a Ghiradelli dark chocolate square.  I find that I can eat dark chocolate and not feel like bingeing..probably because I don’t like it as well as I like the milk chocolate…Finished the day with 1743 calories, so right within range for the second day in a row…woohoo!!

So how did everyone else do today?  Did you stick with your plan?  Get in a little extra exercise?  Cook something healthy?