The storm I didn’t hear

Young tomato plant.

Image via Wikipedia

Well, we had another storm last night.  At least all the evidence this morning indicated that we did.  I must have slept through it and that’s fine with me.  I don’t care what the weather is like as long as it doesn’t blow the house down and I can get some much-needed sleep.  After getting ready for work today, I decided to go out back and look at my tomatoes and peppers.  Wow..what a shock.  My biggest, prettiest tomato plant was bent over…the cage had come out of the ground.  At first I was afraid that my plant was destroyed.  But after looking it over, I realized the stem hadn’t broken or splintered, so I was able to get the cage set back up and prop the plant up again.  One of my pepper plants had also suffered a little damage, but nothing too bad.  A lot of my flowers were really windblown, looking pretty scraggly.  But I think they’ll come back out of it in a few days (of course, now I’m hearing thunder again, might have more storms blowing in…yippee).  As I was walking out the front door, I noticed a lot of tree branches down.  Then I saw the big flag pole in front of the office.  It was bent at probably a 45 degree angle, the weak spot in the pole being about two feet off the ground.  I had no idea that we’d had that much wind come through overnight.  Mother nature can sure pack a punch…I’m pretty much ready for her to calm down for a while.