Writing, I’ve got to get back to you

Ernest Hemingway Writing at Campsite in Kenya ...

Ernest Hemingway Writing at Campsite in Kenya – NARA – 192655 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have to admit, I’ve been more than a little neglectful of my writing lately.  And it’s not that I don’t have ideas about what to write.  Or that I have writer’s block.  Nothing like that.  I’ve just been lazy.  Okay, yes, I do work full-time and have a couple of part-time gigs on the side.  But heck, wasn’t Ernest Hemingway swamped with all of his jobs too?  Oh, what?  He wasn’t?  Oh, well then…how about Edgar Allen Poe?  Oh, that’s right, he was just a little touched and had way more tragedy in his life than I want in mine.

Well then, how about Emily Dickinson?  What?  She just hung around the house?  Seriously?  Hmm…must not have had a lot of bills to pay, no car payments and the like.  This isn’t really making me feel any better about myself.

But then Emily probably didn’t have all of the distractions that I’m faced with…you know, Facebook, Pinterest, millions of online blogs, ebooks…how in the world am I supposed to get anything done when all of my friends and family keep posting new pictures of the kids and the cats and the dog and the vacation?   And don’t forget all of the political crap cartoons that everyone keeps posting…deleting all of that from my feed takes hours every day.

Yep, that’s it…once this election is over, I’ll have all kinds of time to write…well, except then we’ll be getting into the holiday season and work will be nuts (what am I saying, work is nuts every day anyhow) and then it’ll be Thanksgiving and Black Friday…and then the big countdown to Christmas…whew.  Once that’s over, I’ll definitely have more time to write…well, after New Year’s Eve and that big drunken celebration…and then…no, wait!  I’m going to put a stop to this right now.

November is NaNoWriMo month…just suck it up and do it, Patti…no excuses, no whining (well, okay…I won’t be able to do it without a modicum of whining, because face it, I happen to be a world-class whiner).  Get another book done, or at least well on the way.  You’re a writer, gosh darn it (don’t you like that?  kind of reminds you of what’s his name on Saturday Night Live, huh?)…act like it!  Write!  That’s what writers do, so put your pen to paper and go (or, in my case, fingers to keyboard because even I can’t read my hand writing)…let your thoughts flow through your fingertips and do what you do best…write!  Do it!

 

 

10 Responses

  1. Great pep talk! I thought you were talking to me there for a minute! 😉

  2. 🙂 If you think about it, though, Patti, they didn’t have the distractions we have. No tv. No constant streams of online BS. I mean, yeah, we do it to ourselves, but it’s kind of an addiction, right? So, really, it’s a medical condition! And Hemingway had some issues…

    • oh yeah…Hemingway had a few issues, for sure…isn’t it funny how many of the best writers have (or had) major issues? Maybe that’s what pushes them to write and write and write…

  3. NaNo is great when it comes to writing motivation! What’s your username? I would love to add you. =D

    • username on NaNo? Pasuki…will you be participating next month? I’ve signed up…just hope I can get it done…busy time with my job and all…but it’s great motivation!

  4. Your conversation with yourself sounds like my conversation with myself about writing! And those distractions suck me in every day! Good for you for signing up for NaNo. And I believe whining is an important part of the writing process.

    • What I do during NaNo is give myself some online time, just not a lot of online time, every day…if I get my word count in quickly then I can do whatever…

Leave a comment