Making lists…

apple crisp

apple crisp (Photo credit: elana’s pantry)

…and checking them twice…no, wait!  It’s not quite that time of year yet…close, but not quite.

I decided I was going to get a lot of work done around the house today, so sat down and wrote out a list of what I was going to do and the order in which I was going to do it.  I was excited thinking I’d accomplish a lot of things I’d kind of been neglecting.  Well…

The first two things on the list (baking an apple crisp and cleaning the kitchen) took almost three hours to finish.  I love apple crisp, but I’d forgotten how long it takes to peel and slice all of those apples.  I guess that’s why I don’t make one very often.  And then I got distracted while I was cleaning the kitchen.  The cats got into a fight (the first of several) so I had to break that up without getting scratched (a spray bottle filled with water works wonders with Spook….she hates that and, much as I hate to admit it, she’s usually the instigator in any fighting that happens).  Of course, then I had to sweep the floor and wipe up water where they’d overturned their dishes.

After that, I cleaned a little more, then got distracted by looking through a stack of coupons (yes, many of them had expired…darn it).  Then I cleaned a little more, carried some things upstairs where I got distracted once again by cleaning off the vanity in my bedroom (I’d been putting tax paperwork for next spring on the vanity with the intent of filing it later…now, why in the world do I do that?  It takes no time at all to open up the file box and put the paperwork in the correct file…sheesh…).

Anyhow, after spending about three hours doing all of that, I decided I needed a break.  Made the mistake of painting my nails.  Of course, then I couldn’t do anything until they’d completely dried and hardened because what’s the point in doing your nails only to have them smudge or smear or dent?

Oh well…at least the apple crisp made the entire house smell wonderful!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 653 other followers