Christmas shopping done…I think…

I had the day off work today and decided to try to finish up my Christmas shopping.  Now I have to tell you, shopping of any kind is not my favorite thing to do, but shopping at this time of year is something I really, really don’t enjoy.  It’s not that I don’t want to buy things for the people I love, it’s just that I don’t want to have to get out there and battle the crowds.  Having said that, I’ll admit that it wasn’t too bad today.  I was out and about by just a few minutes after 9 this morning.  Had my shopping stops all planned out, had a pretty good idea of what I was going to get for everyone on my list, and how much I wanted to spend.

Okay, the cute pink watch for myself wasn’t on the list…

…but I kind of needed wanted a new watch since I’m not able to figure out how to reset my digital watch when daylight savings time changes…and it’s pink…and I love pink!  Hey, why am I justifying buying a watch for myself?  I go out and work hard for my money, don’t do a lot of shopping for myself, have done a pretty good job of saving money over the past few years…I think I can buy and enjoy a $15 watch for myself.  So there!  And if you don’t agree…well, I just don’t care.  Whoa!!  Let me explain, this is in response to a comment someone left on my status on Facebook (I said that I always buy just about as much stuff for myself as for the people on my list when I go Christmas shopping…yes, that was an  exaggeration…but I do tend to buy a few things for myself when I do my Christmas shopping) saying that the truth was that  I am a me, me, me person…that she doesn’t ever buy for herself when she’s out Christmas shopping and so on and so on…well, you know…sorry about that, but that’s you and maybe you’re a saint and I’m just a selfish, self-indulgent b!tch…but I am going to enjoy my new pink watch!

Okay, now back to the Christmas shopping experience.  Well, for Chris, I found a couple of really nice…oh wait…I can’t mention that here….Well, for Donna, there was just the cutest little…oh yeah…I can’t talk about that today either.  Hmm…well, for Lori & Brent and Brian & Sarah…oh…well…okay, can’t really mention that …well, I did get a really cute baby’s first Christmas ornament for my new little great nephew…see, he can’t read yet, so I think I’m safe with this one.  Then there was the…for Kathy and Larry and David and Tracy…yeah, they all can and do read, so maybe I’ll just save that for another day too.  Got some…..stuff….for the people I work with…but can’t really tell you what it was…wow, this is not a very enlightening post, is it?  Suffice it to say, I’m pretty well done with my Christmas shopping…what a relief!  So, what do you think?  Are my loved ones and coworkers going to like their gifts?

 

5 Responses

  1. Loved this post and the thought and wit that went into your choices although you wouldn’t divulge them. It made me ✯◡✯ and grateful that I will be here another Christmas if all goes well and our daughters will be coming home for 2 WEEKS. The rhythm of the household will return to earlier wonderful times. Making those memories along with celebrating why this season is so special will increase the number of ✯◡✯ (s) for many of us. Happy holidays to you and your readers!

  2. Thank you, Carolyn, happy holidays to you, too!
    Patti, I think they’ll be head over heels for those items!
    I tend to buy some items for myself when out shopping. This is the time of year to buy slippers, new gloves, etc. Ever try to buy them any other time of the year? Some items are discounted more now than any other time, too. And I see nothing wrong with treating oneself to a little something, just because. I hope you enjoy your new watch!

    • I always buy myself a new pair of pajamas for Christmas…the only pair I buy all year…but you’re right, this is when you can find the best deals on a lot of stuff…I hope you’re having a good holiday season.

Leave a comment