The long and winding road to fitness, day 170

English: Checkout lanes inside of a Save Mart ...

Image via Wikipedia

Ho ho ho…wouldn’t you know…I’m moving slow…ho ho ho!!  Moving slow tonight for sure.  I’m just so tired, didn’t sleep well last night…again…I don’t even know how many times I woke up last night.  What I wouldn’t give for a full, uninterrupted eight hours of sleep.  Now with a 5 am truck in the morning, I know I won’t be able to get that much sleep tonight.  But I am going to go to bed as early as possible.

I had a good day with my eating today.  Ended the day with five fruits and veggies.  I made my version of a Subway sandwich for lunch…delish!!

Exercise?  Well, I did do a few minutes of strength training before work this morning and then did a ton of walking around all day.  Another crazy busy day…all day…

And I’m not sure what the deal is with people feeling free to make what I perceive as insulting remarks over the past couple of days.  I had an older couple come through my line.  I asked them if they’d like to sign up to receive our ads and coupons via email.  The lady declined, saying she already gets too many emails that she has to delete.  I told her I end up deleting numerous emails every day without ever opening them.  The man asked if I was on the computer every day.  When I told him I was, he said he valued his time too much to waste time on the computer every day.  Well…okay…I told them that I write every day…he said he didn’t have the time for that.  The entire time, his wife was telling him to shut up…I guess she understood how it sounded.  You know, I think we all do things that other people might consider a waste of time.  We make the time to do what’s important to us.  But to say things like that?  Do people no longer feel any kind of obligation to at least try to be polite?

What about you?  Are you one of those people who mull things over before making a comment?  Or do you just say whatever you’re thinking?  And then how do you feel later about what you said or didn’t say?

4 Responses

  1. I tend to keep quiet, and try to find something encouraging to say. Having a wife telling him to shut up could be part of his communication problem, and maybe he’s jealous of the time she spends on the computer and not with him. We just never know what others are dealing with.

    • hmm…that’s something I hadn’t thought about…and you’re right, we don’t know the issues other people have in their lives. I was really getting irritated with one of the women I work with, it had built up over time, I snapped and said something in a not so nice tone. when i apologized to her, she started crying and said that she knows she isn’t a joy to work with right now, that she’s dealing with a lot with her mom battling cancer. no one at work knew about that. of course I got teary eyed too and gave her a hug. completely changed our interactions.

  2. P.S. Great job on the veggie count!

Leave a Reply

