The long and winding road to fitness, day 168

 

What a dreary, rain-soaked, nasty day this was.  But people still have to shop and that’s just what they were doing.  I thought about doing some shopping after work, but felt so sick that I decided to just go straight home and climb into bed and pull the covers up to my head.  I slept for quite a while which is probably a good thing as far as battling this cold goes.  But when I woke up, I looked at the clock and saw 6:03…thought I’d forgotten to set the alarm and overslept. Then I realized I didn’t have to work on Tuesday.  Then it finally occurred to me that this was today, not tomorrow…don’t you hate that fuzzy thinking when you wake up from a long nap?  Or it could have been the DayQuil messing with my head.  Or maybe the onset of dementia…yikes!

Anyhow, pretty good day of eating…or drinking…drank some V8 Fusion, some oj, some more V8 Fusion.  Early in the day, I was planning to go over to Subway for lunch.  When the time came, I just couldn’t force myself out in the rain once again.  So I dug into my stash of frozen dinners.  I’m kind of getting tired of them though.  After a while, they all start to taste the same.  I think I’m going to have to come up with something different to bring to work for the next week.  Maybe a simple sandwich and salad. (Hmm…I could even bring lunch for Chris too.  He told me he didn’t eat a meal at all yesterday, just snacks…good way to get sick.  Oh wait, he’s already sick.)  I’ve got some cheesecake pudding mix that might go well with frozen blueberries…Anybody got any other suggestions?  I don’t want to have to spend time on my day off cooking.  Heck, I’ve got to get out and do a little Christmas shopping (Nooooooooo……..).

Exercise?  Mmm…just the usual running around at work, did quite a bit of ladder climbing early in the morning…that has to count for something.  I’m so ready to get back to a regular workout routine.  I’m thinking about taking off the first week of January, well, most of it…after I work the New Years Day weekend (my regular weekend to work) and that Monday…then take off  Tuesday through Sunday…that would be the perfect time to get right back into the daily exercise habit.  It’s hard to believe that this is something I’m looking forward to.  I guess, after being in good shape, and allowing myself to slip back into some bad habits and gain a lot of weight, I remember how good I felt when I was exercising daily and eating right…and I want that feeling back!  Great gift to give to myself…well, that and that Kindle that I’m coveting…

4 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well. I’ve done that before, especially this time of year when it’s dark morning and night, woke from a nap and wondered how long I’d been asleep! I want to make a pot of veggie soup. I like to let it simmer a good part of the day, but have to weigh in errands and shopping, appointments…I’ll get it done before the potatoes sprout! This weekend will be busy, a neighbor’s open house Saturday and hubby’s company Christmas party on Sunday. We’ll be regular party animals! lol It was nice here today, cloudy, but I got in a little over a two-mile walk. YOUR rain should get here tomorrow. 🙂

  2. I love to eat wraps! I made a yummy one the other day – garlic and pesto wrap, with hummus, cheese, mushrooms, spinach and cherry tomatoes with grapes on the side 🙂

    Feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

