Decluttering challenge, day 1

Okay, those of you who have been with me a while know that, while I’m not a pack-rat or hoarder, I do have a tendency to allow clutter to accumulate.  Why do I do that?  I mean, I could use the I’m tired when I get home from work excuse.  Or the I’ve been sick off and on for over a year now excuse.  Or the I live every day in pain excuse.  And those are all somewhat valid excuses.  But the thing is, I know I feel better about myself when my house is clean and uncluttered.

I’ve spent the past year questioning myself before I make a purchase.  Do I really need this?  Will I really use it?  Or will it end up collecting dust in a few weeks until I either donate it or sell it?  Asking myself these questions before I buy something has really helped curb my impulse purchases…well, except at Christmas and where Clara is concerned.  I did buy more than I needed to (or should have) at Christmas and I do still tend to buy little things (and some not so little things) that I think Clara might like.  I’m going to get that under control with my no-spend January (but that’s for another post).

Right now, for the month of January, I’m going to focus on eliminating clutter in my house.  The challenge is to get rid of one item on January 1.  Then, on the 2nd, get rid of two more items.  Three items on the 3rd, and so on through the 31st.  I haven’t done the math and I’m too lazy to stop and do it right now (why duplicate work that I’m sure someone else has already done???), but that would be a serious amount of clutter gone from my home in one month’s time.

I think the first week will be fairly easy, but along about week three, I’m thinking things might get a little more intense.  Not that I won’t be able to find things to get rid of.  Oh no, just that actually going through the process of packing 14 items up, taking them out to the car, and getting rid of them (just putting them in the car doesn’t count…have to actually hand them over…throw them out, give them away, sell them, whatever I choose to do with them has to be done each day) will likely become time-consuming and labor intensive as 14 turns into 15 into 16 and so on.

Knowing myself well enough to know I might just give up on the whole thing after a couple of weeks, I decided I needed a little accountability to keep me on the straight and narrow.  So, yep, you guessed it…you lucky folks will get to read daily updates and see daily pictures.  I know, I know…you all need to calm down now…it’ll be very exciting for all of you.  You’ll get a peek into my “why in the world did I ever save that?” stash.  And hey, if you see something you want, let me know quickly.  This is one of those you snooze, you lose deals.  Don’t act fast enough and it’ll be too late.

So, without further ado, day 1…

magazines for Greg

magazines for Greg

Yes, there are two magazines, but they’re both family magazines (free subscriptions that I somehow get…can’t even remember how, you know, since I don’t have kids and the cats don’t really like to do a lot of kid crafting…but I do get some ideas about stuff to do with Clara.), so I’m counting this as one item.  Time to pass them on.  So Greg, if you’re reading this, these will be waiting for you at work when you get there later today.  Enjoy.

Since I already had these set aside for Greg, this wasn’t a huge challenge for me.  Ooh…but what will tomorrow bring as I search for two things to release from my home (no, it won’t be the cats…how dare you even suggest that?).  Check in tomorrow as Patti’s decluttering saga continues…

8 Responses

  1. Happy simplified 2014 to you! Good luck with your decluttering efforts! I start the first weekend in January, and systematically go through each closet, drawer, cubboard and cranny in the house. I didn’t do it last year as I thought we were going to be moving, and moving is such a great way to declutter. Having to pack, lift, lift again and unpack boxes crystallizes what goes and what stays.

    • I dread moving…it’s been a while. But I do want to seriously downsize in the next couple of years…I guess I can use that as motivation to get rid of more stuff…it helps that the people I work with are always excited to go through whatever I bring in.

  2. I can probably cover the whole month by cleaning the refrigerator a day at a time! I have a feeling your posts will encourage me to do a little decluttering of my own.

    • Well…I haven’t tackled the fridge yet…good idea though! If I get stuck for ideas (yeah, right), I’ll start pulling stuff out of the fridge. Of course, then comes the not so pleasant prospect of taking and sharing pictures…hmm…are you up for it?

  3. This is a great idea! I’m looking forward to reading about your progress. Of course, the kitties are staying!

    • That’s right, the kitties are going nowhere. Well, I did accidentally lock Scout in the bathroom closet a few minutes ago. She’s usually pretty quiet, but she let me hear all about how awfully mistreated she’s been on the first day of the new year. And then she turned around and ran right back into the closet…{{{sigh}}}

  4. I finally kicked a decades-long magazine habit when I was unemployed. Got rid of so many of them. I still buy one or two, but only if I’m REALLY interested (the internet has killed a lot of it, because I can find the same stuff online), if it’s a specialty magazine, and except for dollhouse mags, I dump them quickly now instead of hoarding them.

    My walls need painting, so I’m going to purge and purge. Everything is going into the garage and I’ll sort through it when it warms up. Then I’m going to redecorate! 😀

    • I know what you mean…I love to page through magazines. I used to subscribe to tons of them, now I only pay for All You…all the rest of my subscriptions are free…Of course, while helping the bank account, that still doesn’t do a lot to rid your home of teetering piles of slick magazines. I always hate to throw them away…someone would enjoy reading them, right? Or I might just need that recipe or that article showing how to do Bollywood dancing (don’t knock it, it’s fun).

      Ahh…you’ve got the dollhouse thing going on, huh? I have a whole stack of magazines on making dolls. I keep thinking I’ll get back into that, maybe start selling them again. I probably won’t get rid of those, or the crochet ones, or the cross stitch ones, or the gardening ones…oh man, maybe I need to at least find a better way to store them…

Leave a Reply

