I haven’t given up on NaNo

As this is the 17th of November and I only have a little over 12000 words written, you might be rolling your eyes at that statement.  You might be thinking I should just give it up to write again another day.  Why put myself through the stress and struggle of trying to hit 50,000 words by the end of the month?  And maybe you’re right, but I just can’t find it within myself to give up.

Sad but true...average of 722 words per day.

Sad but true…average of 722 words per day.

I had to chuckle (a little ruefully, I admit) when I saw my stats after updating my word count today.  It said that, at this rate, I would finish my 50,000 words on January 10.  How about that?  But I’m going to write more than my 712 words per day average.  In order to hit 50,000 I’ll have to write a little under 3000 words a day.  Wow!  That’s a lot, I know.  But still very doable.  I just have to force myself to sit down at the computer a few times a day and actually write something.

Today, when I sat down to write (after we had tornadoes sweep through the area and after watching Indiana win another game), I’ll admit it was a struggle to get back into it at first.  But it got easier as I went on.  I’m still going to do another session yet tonight.  And I have tomorrow off work.  With Clara in school, I shouldn’t have to worry about any little intrusions until 5 pm or so.  The plan is to sit down to at least three long writing sessions tomorrow…more if I feel like it and can keep going.  I’m not giving up.

With almost two full weeks left in the month, I believe I can do it.  I believe.

9 Responses

  1. Perhaps one day I’ll do NaNoWriMo but the way each semester turns out, it’d be insane to add that too, especially considering I’ve written about 45K words this semester combined. 😛

    On the bright side I’ve started work on a slightly less serious novel than I usually write called “Mors Indecepta.” Google it. 😛

    • Yeah, I’d think doing NaNo while you’re still in school probably wouldn’t be the brightest idea you’ve ever had…and I’ll be googling your Mors Indecepta when I’m not quite so tired. Like in ten hours or so…

      • Hey, you gotta do what you gotta do first and foremost!

        Yeah, I have enough to write as it is! how are you?

      • I’m doing pretty well…working a lot, of course. I bet you’re looking forward to a nice break, well I guess after those pesky finals are finished! You’re doing so well in school…I’m so proud of you.

      • It’ll be something of a break ha…

        I have student government work to do. Work for another prof. And revisions on a paper that I’m presenting at a conference in April ha. No rest for the wicked. Seriously.

        I’m glad to hear you’re doing well though! How are the cats doing these days?

  2. I believe you can do it too!!!

  3. […] Another writer who’s keeping on going (run4joy59.wordpress.com) […]

  4. If anybody can do it, you can!

Leave a Reply

