Falling leaves

001

We had a rainy (off and on) day today which, of course, has caused the leaves to release their hold on the trees.  The leaves fling themselves into the wind, scurry across the lawn and down into the road, carried away by the streams of water cascading toward the drains.  We haven’t had the royal reds, sunny yellows, and breath-taking oranges that we usually have here in southern Indiana.  The weather isn’t cooperating, much too warm for this late in the season.

But fall is definitely here.  The persimmons are joining the leaves under the trees, if you can only get to them before your dog does you’ll be able to gather enough to process them and put them in the freezer.  Then, when the cold of winter is upon us, you can pull out a container of pulp and whip up a delicious persimmon pudding to help warm the coldness in your bones and fill your home with a spicy sweet scent.  How I remember growing up on the farm and running the persimmons through the processor to freeze container upon container of that deep orange pulp.  Our collie, Lady, raced us for the fallen fruit, gobbling the little globes, trying to beat us in the competition.  Fortunately we lived in an area that had an abundance of wild persimmon trees that blessed us with their bounty yearly.  In fact, the town where I grew up just finished its week-long tribute to the persimmon, the Persimmon Festival.  I wasn’t able to make it back this year, but I’m hoping I’ll join my friends next year.

Some folks don’t like fall because they see that winter is following closely on its heels.  Me?  I love fall.  I love the crisp air, the colors, the foods we associate with the cooler weather, the sound you make when you walk through the fallen leaves, and all of the local festivals.  I don’t even mind the fact that winter is coming.  Talk to me about that in February and I’ll likely be singing a different tune, but for now, I’m simply enjoying what fall brings my way.

4 Responses

  1. My husband’s Mom makes the best persimmon pudding! I love Fall and Winter. I shut down in Summer. Summer sucks the very life out of me! We were 90 degrees in Missouri on Friday, yesterday a cold front screamed thru and we went down 30 degrees! Fall has arrived.. 🙂 Enjoy your Sunday and cuddle your kitties!

    • One of my best friends has won first place in a persimmon pudding contest…twice!! It was a little nippy here today, but at least the sun was shining!

  2. Yup, it’s fall. I say we have to appreciate each season on its own merits.

    Persimmons are big in Indiana, but even with growing up there, I’ve never had them. I have friends who have trees–maybe I can snag some from them.

    • You should give persimmons a try…anything you can use pumpkin puree in would likely be good with persimmon pulp…cookies, bread, cake, pudding, ice cream, even fudge (I have to admit, I’ve not tried the fudge yet…but someday!).

Leave a Reply

