Labor Day shenanigans

English: A pile of plain M&M's candies.

English: A pile of plain M&M’s candies. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well, first let me say, I had to work today and it was crazy busy from the get go.  Between dealing with the lady I hired for the office job (I’m starting to wonder if I may have made a mistake) and trying to deal with the event calendar, my morning somehow disappeared.  Then I pretty much spent the rest of the day running register.  Now you know we’re busy when I’m on register for an extended period of time.

We tried to have a managers’ meeting, probably not the best day for that.  I tried to get the cake decorating info in the book…again, not an ideal time to tackle that.  I finally just cleaned my mess up and ran register.  I was so glad when it was time for my hot and sweaty self to head on home.

I did swing by Kroger on the way home…being the bad girl I am, I bought a frozen pizza (that’s the tired me controlling the trying-to-eat-healthier me).  To give myself a little credit, I did only eat a fourth of it…along with about four glasses of water.  I also bought some fun-size M & M’s for Claire.  I’ve been keeping a little bowl on my coffee table with kid candy in it for her.  You should have seen her eyes light up when she saw those M & M’s (or, as she says, “nm n nms”).  She also chowed down on some string cheese.  Have you ever watched a little kid eat string cheese?  Not a pretty sight.

Claire and I visited for quite a while.  She wanted to help me feed the kitties…not that it requires much help…open a can and divide it up on two saucers.  Then she wanted to go through my purse.  Just had a thought, I hope she’s not really a midget spy for a major crime ring…memorizing all of my credit card info….

Now  I’m worn out and just about ready for bed.  How’s that for a fun-filled Labor Day?  At least I have tomorrow off and no pressing engagements to take care of.

6 Responses

  1. Enjoy your day off! M&Ms? I’d be your buddy for life.

  2. Sounds like little Claire has worked her way into your heart. Enjoy it! We had a little neighbor who visited us regularly. She’s moved away and I miss her a lot! She loved to water the flowers, and usually ended up with soaking wet shoes and socks.

    Sounds like Labor Day at work was super busy. Don’t work too hard!

    • She definitely has…her mom said she talks about me all the time, wondering when I’ll be home from work and what we did the day before. Kids that age can be so much fun!

Leave a Reply

