Giving in to the pain?

Dr. Miles' Anti-Pain Pills, Edmonds Historical...

Dr. Miles’ Anti-Pain Pills, Edmonds Historical Museum, Edmonds, Washington. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have several doctor’s appointments coming up over the next couple of weeks.  And you know how much I’m looking forward to that, right?  The thing is, I find myself  blaming the doctors because I’m still in so much pain every day.  It feels like they’re not really taking it seriously.  I know I haven’t been actively seeking medical treatment for the pain for all that long, but I’ve been In a lot of pain for several years now.  Maybe I need to stress that when I see the various doctors this month.

There are days I go to work wondering how I’ll make it through the day.  Granted, I’m usually able to survive the entire day at work, but at what cost?  Sometimes I cry all the way home.  Other days I manage to work my way through the basics before I collapse in bed.  Isn’t there something the doctors can do to help ease the pain?  I’ve been on Celebrex for several months now…it’s sure not doing a lot for me.  Can’t we look at what I’ve already tried and find something different that might work?  Why keep prescribing the same thing when we know it’s not helping?  And why am I so dumb that I keep taking drugs that don’t do anything for me?  Why can’t I just tell them I want something stronger?

I understand that the doctors are trying to find meds that will work at the lowest possible dosage…I get it, I do.  In the meantime, what?  Just keep hurting?  Just keep on not being able to sleep?  Just keep trying to make it through the day in a fog of fatigue?  Most of the time I find myself giving in to the pain, thinking that I’ll just have to live with it, that there’s no help for it or for me.  Whew!  Do I sound like a whiny brat, or what?  Hey, there are times that the pain will do that to you…

8 Responses

  1. Has to be frustrating as well as painful! Keep searching for an answer and help. Pain clinic? MRI?

  2. I don’t know, Carol…the rheumatologist said we would do additional x-rays and/or an MRI down the road…I see her next week, so who knows what she’ll suggest then?

  3. You don’t sound like a whiny brat at all girlfriend!! Oh my gosh, you are suffering so much and your pain is making such a huge impact on your life. Just the fact that you are working despite all your pain is amazing! Vent, for gosh sakes, it’s the least you can do to feel a little better. Celeste 🙂

  4. I’m sorry to hear you are in so much pain, and aren’t getting relief from the Celebrex. Tell your doctor you need to try something else. You are really tough to keep doing your job every day. Have you tried Tylenol Arthritis formula? It’s not an anti-inflammatory, but it helps with the pain I have. Each tablet is 650 mg, extended release. Don’t take more than six a day, to protect your liver. It’s the only thing that really helps me, but I realize with rheumatoid arthritis, inflammation is an issue. Do you use an ice pack on achy joints?

    • I find, for me, soaking in a tub of hot water helps more with the pain than ice does. I haven’t tried the Tylenol Arthritis formula. The rheumatologist did give me a prescription for Vicodin, 2 a day, and it really does help relieve the pain…one of the ingredients in it is the same as what’s in Tylenol, so I’d be concerned taking anything else with the same ingredients. She wants me to take the Vicodin along with the Celebrex for a month…so we’ll see how that goes.

      • No, you wouldn’t want to add more. I didn’t know what you were taking. Celebrex really helped me early on with my neck. The second day my head turned freely, noticeable when backing car out of driveway. I was amazed to see results so quickly.

Leave a Reply

