How can I learn to be patient?

Patience

Patience (Photo credit: AngSocialMed)

I am not the most patient person in the world, not by a long shot.  And I feel guilty when I’m impatient with someone…well, most of the time.  Last night, my lovely new neighbors were outside yelling at someone in a car and someone threw something that hit my door.  The cats scattered in fear, that’s how loud it was.  Without thinking of the consequences, I rushed to the door, unlocked it, and jerked it open, giving them all my evil stare.  It must be a pretty frightening look because the people in the car took off and the dear, sweet neighbors went inside.  These people have only lived here for about two months and this kind of behavior happens every week or so.  Just a tad annoying.

How does this have anything to do with me not being patient, you might ask.  I mean, I didn’t go out there with my gun and threaten to shoot them all…oh wait, I don’t have a gun (I’m thinking that may be a good thing).  I didn’t call the police although I do think someone must have because they drove by not too long after the incident.  I didn’t go over and pound on their door and yell and scream at them…okay, a couple of reasons I didn’t do that…I’m not really the yelling and screaming type and I tend to be a little cowardly when faced with a group of people who might want to do me bodily harm. But I also didn’t go over and try to speak with them after everyone had calmed down.  I didn’t explain to them that I’m not all that healthy, I have difficulty sleeping, and I’m still working 40+ hours a week.  I just kind of stewed for the rest of the night.

When I left to go to work this morning, there was a note taped to my door.  The lady apologized to me for being too loud, saying her younger, under-aged sister came over wanting her to go out and buy her and her friends some alcohol.  That’s what precipitated the argument.  Okay, so it still wasn’t right for them to be yelling and throwing things, disturbing everyone who lives in the neighborhood.  But…she did apologize and that’s more than most folks are willing to do.

Hmm…after reading this again, I think I’ve been fairly patient with them over the past two months.  Maybe a better question would be how can I learn to peacefully confront people and talk things through?  Or am I being naïve?  Oh well, wouldn’t be the first time.

7 Responses

  1. I am, by no means, a patient person. It’s not written into my DNA ha. I’ve improved it but I tend to lose patience when shit hits the proverbial fan.

  2. I was going to say, it doesn’t sound like you to be impatient. It is hard to adapt to such changes in one’s environment. Maybe they need a neighbor like you to be a friend and mentor as to how “normal” people live.

  3. Maybe you could say hello next time you see her outside; you might get a chance to talk to her a bit and can bring it up then. At least now she knows she disturbed you and she did apologize, which is good. It sounds like her family member is the real problem.
    At least you don’t have a meth house across the street, like I did for a while. They were actually not too noisy, except for the cars going in and out at all hours, and oh yeah, the final police raid at 3:30 in the morning. >_<

    • Honestly, I’m not laughing at the whole meth lab situation…at least it didn’t blow the neighborhood up. I’ve decided I’ll say “hi” when I see her next time and we’ll go from there. They’ve been pretty quiet since Friday night, so there is that.

Leave a Reply

