Just peachy

English: Autumn Red peach. Français : Pêches E...

English: Autumn Red peach. Français : Pêches Español: Durazno cortado por la mitad (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I don’t know about you all, but I love, absolutely adore, fresh peaches.  Now I’m not talking about those little hard things you can buy at the grocery store.  Nope.  I’m talking about  those huge, tree-ripened, juicy peaches that you can only find for a short time every summer.  And now’s the time.

I’m not-so-patiently waiting for Greg to bring me some from Huber’s Orchard.  He told me he would.  Oh, how I hope he does.  I can just about taste that sweet burst of peachiness as you take a big bite and then have to laugh because the juice dribbles down your chin.  Maybe tomorrow…I hope tomorrow.  If not?  Well, I do have a bit of a contingency plan.   There’s a little orchard on the west side of Bloomington…not too far from where I work.  I can always swing by there after work and pick up a peck of perfectly plump peaches.

The window is open for such a short stretch of time…better get ’em  while the gettin’s good!

