Home of Gus Grissom

Virgil Gus Grissom

Virgil Gus Grissom (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

English: Gemini 3, Grissom Memorial, Spring Mi...

English: Gemini 3, Grissom Memorial, Spring Mill State Park, Mitchell, IN (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Aww…come on, people.  I thought for sure some of you crack-pot bloggers would have caught the fact that the picture in yesterday’s post was of Gus Grissom’s boyhood home.  (Those of you from Europe are excused)  How disappointing that you didn’t.  Yes, I am from the same hometown as the astronaut, Virgil “Gus” Grissom.  I even bought some furniture that his father refinished.

That’s our town’s claim to fame…a hometown hero.  If you’re unaware of Gus Grissom, well…google him…do it right now.

10 Responses

  1. […] Home of Gus Grissom (run4joy59.wordpress.com) […]

  2. The astronaut?
    I am from Scotland and I knew off him..

    Saying that I do read every page online 🙂

    You “May” find this interesting?
    Of course, do your own research.. x
    http://www.godlikeproductions.com/forum1/message1839611/pg1

    • Yep, the astronaut…home town boy makes good…very cool that you know of him~

      • Yeah..What did you make of the link x
        I knew who he was anyway, but had read that a few times..

        Shaun x

      • I don’t know…I had heard something about this, but apparently there are those in the Grissom family who believe it to be true and those who absolutely don’t. I don’t particularly trust government at any level, so I could see how it could be possible. But, at the same time, I’m not a big conspiracy theorist either…it would be interesting to research if you could gain access to all of the files and material…hmm…maybe a girl from Mitchell Indiana could do an expose about how the government destroyed the hometown hero…

      • I have researched this. I think it is true… Sadly.
        And yeah, the truth should be told

        x

      • Or maybe a guy from Scotland could write the expose???

      • I could…Good shout!! Email me some links could you?

        Please?
        Pretty please?

        Just so I know more about his past..

        Shaun x

      • Give me ’till the weekend…believe it or not, I have the weekend off and not a lot that I have to do…so I’ll see what I can dig up for you then.

      • Thank you..
        I know about him and the story.
        Just some local links from your area so I can read up..

        Looking forward to it..
        Cheers

Leave a comment