A pretty good day!

After spending the entire week in pain…not just minor, everyday aches and pains, but pain where I was wondering if the cats would be alright if I didn’t go downstairs and feed them because I hurt too bad to maneuver the stairs…I was shocked when I woke up this morning.  I laid there for a minute, afraid to move.  I didn’t have the throbbing pain in my hip that was just waiting until I made the slightest move so it could once again attack me.  My hands were stiff (they always are), but there were no shooting pains running down my thumbs into my wrists.  My shoulders didn’t feel like they would be dislocated at any moment.  My feet were sore, but not screaming in pain simply because the comforter was on them.

Wow!  I hadn’t felt that good upon awakening in a long time…months really.  So I slowly rolled up until I was sitting on the edge of the bed.  When I stood up, I still hobbled around like an old lady, but at least not an old lady in unbelievable pain.  I even managed to do a little housework today…more than the bare minimum which is what I’ve been doing for, oh gosh, what’s it been?  Six months?  I cleaned the tub (after a nice long soak in it), vacuumed the bedroom (even moving some of the furniture), went through a couple of piles of stuff and tossed out most of it (why do I save things like catalogs and magazines?  why not just throw them out once I’ve looked at them?), dusted the upstairs, took some things off the walls to either donate or sell (I’m tired of looking at things, don’t you get like that?),  and hung this organizer I bought months ago to put my nail polish in (the nail polish I haven’t used in months…but I will).  I’m pretty pleased with how it displays all of my polish for me…no more digging for just the right color.  Of course, I had to climb up on a step-ladder which was a little scary…I’ve been having dizzy spells with the various meds I’m on, so ladder climbing is supposed to be a big no-no for me.  But I’ve got Spooky trained to call 911 if anything happens, so it’s all good.

Looks so  simple, but has taken me months to do.

Looks so simple, but has taken me months to do.

I must admit, I did take a few breaks throughout the day, but I’m still feeling pretty good.  Pain level between 1 and 10 (10 being excruciating), I’d say I woke up at a 3 and never went over 5 for the day.  I think that’s a reason to celebrate…hmm…maybe I’ll do that by digging out some nail polish…

9 Responses

  1. I’m so glad you are feeling better! Yes, get out the polish and liven up the place with color! 🙂 That Spook is one smart cat.

  2. Yay for feeling better! Let us hope this continues. *hugs carefully*

  3. Good news today!!

  4. Pain sucks! I’m so glad that you had a good day today and I hope it’s the start of many more! Celeste 🙂

Leave a Reply

