Very unsettling dreams…

Watford

Watford (Photo credit: Indiana Public Media)

…okay, for many of you, these dreams might not seem all that unsettling.  But for my IU basketball loving–living-breathing-fanatical-friends…well, you’ll understand.

I watch the games from home even tho I live right in good old Bloomington…not that easy to get tickets, plus feeling way too sick to make the trek to the real Assembly Hall.  Anyhow…I’m always on twitter during the games…you know twitter?  Facebook is about the people you actually went to school with but twitter is the people you wish you’d been fortunate enough to go to school with…read that on twitter the other day and thought it sounded pretty much right.  So…back to the story.  On twitter, you comment back and forth with IU fans all over the country (world), some who happen to be sitting inside Assembly Hall (again, the real one…not the imitation one in Illinois), others who are sitting in sports bars all over the place, and mostly those who are, like me, watching the game at home.  Don’t tell anyone, but I’ve even been known to be hooked into twitter at work on those rare occasions when I’ve had to work during a game…shh…You cheer together over the great plays and groan over the what-might-have-beens (Dipo missed-dunk, anyone?).

There are some IU fans who have made comments about one of the guys on the team..one of the seniors…one of the guys who stuck it out through the tough times…leading active scorer in the B1G…all around talented big guy…originator of the WatShot…yep, Christian Watford.  Seriously, I love this guy.  I think he has played a huge part in Indiana’s return to greatness.  So what issue do some of these other fans have with CWat?  They say he looks like he’s always sleepy.  Some folks even go so far as to say he always looks stoned.  Jokes, right?  I mean, really…most of us can’t help how our eyes turn out genetically…so they’re kidding around.

Try telling that to my sub-conscious, my dream-center…yep….that’s what my nightmare was about last night.  CWat.  In my dream, I walked into the auditorium where I work (I don’t work in an auditorium in real life, this is a dream, remember?) and join my boss (who happens to be my real life boss, Steve) in trying to figure out what we’re going to do about the incident that transpired the night before.  Indiana is just about to embark on its championship run…we’ve got this in the bag….ready to hang banner 6 up on the wall in the Hall.  And then what happens?  Well, a couple of things, one of which I’m totally clear on, the other is a bit fuzzy.

The fuzzy incident concerns Cody Zeller (huh, just noticed how I worked his uncle into this dream…you know, Fuzzy Zeller?  Oh, never mind…)  I’m not sure what happened with Cody, so I’m going to set this aside for another day.  But I’m absolutely certain about what happened with CWat…he got arrested for, you got it, drugs….NOOOOOO!!!

Steve and I are frantic!  What in the world are we going to do to get this kid out of this mess?  We know he doesn’t do drugs, has nothing to do with drugs.  It has to be a set-up (and my guess would be some of those punk Boilers are behind it…they still haven’t gotten over the fact that we whooped all over them, not once, but twice this season).  We’re discussing our options when a young lady walks into the auditorium with a key piece of evidence…thank you, Lord…just what we’ve been looking for…the broken and nailed back together skateboard…hallejuhah!! (Come on, it’s a dream…I’m just trying to tell you about it…I can’t help it if it doesn’t make sense.)

We take the skateboard to CWat…and then, what?  I wake up?  Are you serious?  I can’t help the kid if I’m not in the dream!  I shake my head, half-smiling about the crazy dream, turn over and go back to sleep.

And what happens?  Holy moly, I’m right back there in the same dream.  Have you ever had that happen?  Usually, the dreams I want to go back into just disappear forever and the ones I don’t ever want to see any part of again are the ones I find myself stumbling back into.  Not really sure where this one falls on that spectrum, but anyhow…back into it I go.

We go find CWat, who is being held outside on campus, with all the campus co-eds gathering around him (hey, these guys are basketball gods in the center of the college basketball universe, what can I say?).  After finally managing to shoo the girls away, we sit down to talk with Watford about the skateboard.  He’s very thankful to see it, but doesn’t explain why.  He only knows that this particular, nailed-together skateboard will result in his release and the dropping of all charges…and then he can go on doing what he came to Indiana to do…helping the Hoosiers win their sixth national championship.

Unfortunately, that’s all I’ve got…I woke up again…and didn’t go back to sleep.  Hmm…wonder if I just might be able to lull myself back into that same dream again tonight…stay tuned…in the meantime, go Hoosiers!!

2 Responses

  1. Now I’m wondering which of you is really on drugs! LOL I started a dream journal, and it’s amazing how wacky things come out when trying to explain them. It made perfect sense when I was asleep. I’ve returned to the same dreams, after a “commercial break.” I hope you get good news this week.

Leave a Reply

