Sometimes people really do hear what you’re saying

Listen Here!

Listen Here! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Have you ever noticed that, a lot of the time, people don’t really listen when you talk?  Or that we don’t listen when someone else talks?  I think we’re all guilty of this on occasion.  I know I sometimes catch myself thinking more about myself and how I’m going to respond than actually listening to what the other person is trying to say.

Why do we do this?  Are we trying to figure out what we’re going to say once the other person stops talking?    Are we thinking about what we’re going to do in a few minutes, or hours, or tomorrow?  Are we focusing on something else entirely?    Why can’t we just be still and listen, really listen, to what the person we are with, right now, is saying?  Are we so caught up in ourselves that no one else matters?  And if that’s the case, how in the world did we become such self-centered, selfish people?  And how do we overcome this?

Or is that something that people even care about these days?  Something for us to ponder…and perhaps observe the behavior of people who genuinely hear what others have to say, who honor them by truly listening.  And I’d be willing to bet that they learn much more by actively listening to what others have to say than by plotting out their next comments…just a thought…

4 Responses

  1. I’m sorry, did you say something? 😉 I try to be a good listener, but have to admit when something they say triggers a memory or a conversation, my mind tries to formulate a response.

    • hahaha!! I think we all (or most of us) do the same thing, Patti…I mean, I’ve really tried to notice when I’m doing that and bring my mind back to the present, but it’s not easy..

  2. […] For https://run4joy59.wordpress.com/2013/02/21/sometimes-people-really-do-hear-what-youre-saying/ Good fun, also blogs great […]

Leave a Reply

