Medical issues still hanging around

L-13-02-05-C-052

L-13-02-05-C-052 (Photo credit: US Department of Labor)

Who would have thought, all those weeks ago when I first got sick, that I’d still be sick in February…the middle of February at that?  But here I am, on medical leave from work trying to regain my health enough to at least be able to go back to work.  Still having respiratory issues, much activity at all and I start this high-pitched coughing…to the point of pain and headache.  We’re still not sure exactly what’s going on…the original diagnosis was acute respiratory infection.  When I looked that up online, it seemed to be kind of a catch-all, covering several different illnesses.  I’ve been seeing my doctor at least once a week…tests, meds, etc. Maybe one of these days we’ll get it figured out…keeping my fingers crossed on that one.

You’d think I’d be able to get a lot done without having to go to work, but you’d be wrong.  I just don’t feel up to doing anything.  I feel like I’ve had a good day when I do dishes and feed the cats.  I haven’t been writing at all…thank goodness for my Kindle…not going to run out of books to read.

A couple of my friends have called, wondering if I needed anything.  So far I’ve been okay…that’s one of the benefits about stocking up on cat food and treats…I’ve been in the habit of stopping at Pet Smart every other week and always buying enough for two weeks and two days…that way I have a stockpile of food for the little darlings in case of an emergency (of course, the emergency I’ve always thought about being prepared for was a severe snowstorm…not sickness).  But to have friends who are thinking about me makes me feel good.  And one of my neighbors told me they were heading out to the grocery store and wondered if I needed them to pick up anything…nice, huh?

It sure would be nice to have all of this time off if I felt like doing anything…of course, if I felt like doing anything, I’d be at work…can’t win that one…

13 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear that. Feel better.

  2. I am so sorry to hear that you are still so sick. I’m glad that you have people near by who can help you. Hope they figure it out and that you are well soon. The most important thing is to take care of yourself.

  3. Aww. I hope you feel better soon. Take the time to rest and maybe read a bit, if you can. Get well quickly!!

  4. Didn’t know you were still sick. Let me know if I can help. Will be praying for you. Call the home phone. Cell is acting stupid.

  5. Being sick is bad enough, without the uncertainty. Glad you have cats–I’ll bet they curl up with you. Get well–however long it takes.

  6. I’m sorry to hear you are still having to put up with this. Thankful for good friends and neighbors. That is the pits when you have all this time to be home and all the things you’d like to be able to do. Just get well!

Leave a Reply

