Bread baking

trio of bread

trio of bread (Photo credit: kidmissile)

First, let me say, I love bread…but not just any old bread.  I like the artisan style breads…homemade breads…breads with some texture.  So you won’t see me buying a loaf of pre-sliced pre-packaged fluffy, spongy white bread…you know, the kind that is so loaded with preservatives that it will keep for a couple of weeks.  I couldn’t tell you the last time I ate that stuff (see, I can’t even call it bread).

I like the bread made with whole grains and seeds, but have you ever noticed how expensive that kind of bread is?  Well, I have.  That got me thinking about making my own bread.  I used to do that a lot, then working a lot of hours kind of got in the way.  But now I’ve decided to go ahead and start baking bread again.  That decision led me to wondering about bread machines.  I’ve never used one, don’t own one, am not sure that I really want one.  Yes, it would be convenient to be able to just throw the ingredients in and have the machine do all of the work.  But…there again, there’s the cost involved.  So what’s a girl to do?

I’ve looked online at the local “yard sales” on Facebook as well as some of the trader sites…so far nothing.  I’m going to stop at Goodwill one of these days and see if they happen to have one.  See, I’m kind of hesitant to spend much on something that I may not like…so looking to go the cheap route until I’m sure.  So, I guess my question for you all is, do you use a bread machine (if, of course, you bake your own bread) and what kind do you recommend?

Oh…I did bake some bread when I got home from work today.  Corn bread with stone ground cornmeal from Spring Mill State Park in my old home town of Mitchell, Indiana…stop by if you’re in the neighborhood…very cool place to visit.

7 Responses

  1. Those are my favorite breads, too. I have a hard time finding something hubby and I can agree on. I like nuts and seeds and grains, but not so much on his part. With just the two of us, we can only eat so much. I’ve never used a bread maker.

  2. I got one for Christmas. I was expecting an inexpensive one (no more than $30), but my in-laws went all out and got a super-fancy one!

    I like it, but I have to say, I find myself not using it very often. The bread it makes is delicious, don’t get me wrong! But we already buy whole-grain bread from the store, which is fine with me for a quick sandwich or toast.

    Like you, I can’t stand trashy, cheap white bread any more, so we don’t buy it. Instead, we buy Nature’s Own brand, the best being the 7-grain that we can almost NEVER find! In lieu of that, we get the Honey Wheat, which is also pretty tasty. 🙂

    It’s not that much more expensive than regular bread. However, if you’re more of a deli-bread person, then yes, a good bread machine may be worth the investment. But don’t get the very cheapest out there! Do your research and save some money, and buy one that will last a while. It’ll be worth the investment!

  3. […] Bread baking (run4joy59.wordpress.com) […]

  4. great issues altogether, you simply gained a emblem new reader.
    What may you recommend in regards to your submit
    that you just made some days in the past? Any sure?

Leave a Reply

