Two weeks later and still under the weather

English: Hamlin's Wizard Oil, the greatest fam...

English: Hamlin’s Wizard Oil, the greatest family remedy for rheumatism, neuralgia, toothache, headache, diphtheria, sore throat, lame back, sprains, bruises, corns, cramps, colic, diarrhœa and all pain and inflammation. Sold by all druggists. Advertising for turn-of-the-century miracle cure, chromolithograph by Hughes Lithographers, Chicago. Undated, estimated to be from around 1890. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’ve been sick for a little over two weeks now…can you believe that?  It’s not the flu, thank goodness.  That’s some serious stuff this year.  I got a flu shot so hopefully I won’t be dealing with that.  But I did have a terrible cold, coughing so much that my chest was sore.  Still have a raspy voice and sore throat.  Sheesh, I’m over this already…I wish.

I’ve been to the doctor three times now…trying to get plenty of rest (yeah, right) and drink, drink, drink (not what you’re thinking, come on!).  I know I always get run down working such long hours during the Christmas season…happens every year.  I used to get the flu in January or February, then my doctor finally convinced me to start getting a flu shot…I think that’s helped.  Now if they’d just make a cold shot!!  Somebody could make a lot of money with that one!

This is just one more reason I’m looking forward to spring!

6 Responses

  1. I’m so sorry you’ve been sick. I had the same thing over the holidays. It took three weeks for it to go away – it wasn’t the flu, just that cough and wish-I-was-dead feeling. So rest assured that it can’t last much longer. Sending you healing juju.

  2. I hope you get better soon. We’ve had some unseasonably warm temperatures down here and a lot of sickness. A family member of mine has had similar symptoms. I love Spring and I, too, am waiting anxiously for the return of the green!

  3. My uncle used to say if you treat a cold it lasts 14 days, but if you don’t it lasts two weeks. 😉 Maybe some things never change! Hope you feel better soon.

Leave a Reply

