How do you save money?

Money

Money (Photo credit: 401(K) 2013)

I’m probably the last person you’d go to for financial advice, but I’ve learned some hard lessons over the years,and isn’t that what life is all about?  We learn from our experiences (hopefully, anyhow) and then move on to the next lesson.  I’ve gone from really struggling financially to being comfortable.  I’ve learned that I don’t have to  have everything that everyone else has and that I can actually be happier with less stuff taking up space in my home and my life.I have a 401K, put in a certain percentage from each pay check, company match is okay…not the best I’ve ever seen, but it’s still free money, right?  And I don’t borrow from it…ever…I know I’m going to need this money when I’m finally able to retire.  I try to encourage the younger folks I work with to get started with planning for their retirement now, but I might as well be talking to a tree.  You know, it’s a long way off…I’ll think about it when I’m over 30 (or married, or have a better job).  I try to explain to them how much more money they’ll have if they start in their early 20s, but hey, I’m not their mom…not that they’d listen to her either.  Remember how much you knew when you were 21 or 22?

I also have an emergency fund that I’m continuing to fund.  I’ve been very fortunate and haven’t had an emergency lately so haven’t had to dip into that one either.  For years I didn’t have any kind of emergency fund…gotta say it’s much less stressful to have one.

I also save a little out of  every paycheck just for whatever…no big plans for it, but I have a little extra cash on hand if something fun comes up.

So…having said all of that…I saw something on Facebook the other day that I thought sounded kind of interesting…each week this year you save some money…the first week you save $1, second week $2 and so on until you’re saving $52 the final week of the year…I can’t remember how much money you would save over the course of the year and I’m too lazy to go look it up (or figure it out), but it sure seems like a pretty easy way to save up a nice chunk of change.  So I decided to go ahead and do this in addition to my other savings efforts…got no real plans for the money.  I honestly don’t need anything and have been making a concerted effort to not buy things just to be buying things.  I’ve been asking myself if this is something I need…if not, I’m waiting.  I’ve found that the impulse usually passes if I don’t buy it right away.  It sure has helped me save money and reduce clutter…now to do something about the clutter already in my house…hmm…maybe I should sell some of my “stuff” and save that money too.

So how do you save money?  Any tips to share with the rest of us?

Added note:  I figured out the total you’d save over the course of a year on the above plan, not figuring any kind of interest…you’d have $1378 saved relatively painlessly.

9 Responses

  1. Retire?
    HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA HAH A HA HA HA HA HA!!!!

    Not unless I win the lottery. Every time I get a little ahead, something stupid happens and *SCHLOOOOP* there goes all the money. I’ve pretty much given up.

    Once I find a job, I’ll try to rebuild the savings I lost this time. But it seems my life has just been reduced to a joyless slog.

    • I know, sometimes I wonder when I’ll be able to retire…or if I will…I don’t want to be one of those 70 year old women working at WalMart (or anywhere else, really)….good luck with the job hunt!

  2. As a single-income family, it’s my job to try to save money on the things we have to buy. Some ways are combining errands to save on gas, making the most of the grocer’s saving program and buying bulk on some items at a warehouse club. Someone once said, “Never pay full price for anything.” I try to wait for sales, make use of coupons, have a credit card with cash-back bonus; there are extra savings from merchants if one logs into this credit card site, then clicks the link to the merchant. I try to support local merchants, but sometimes, I have to use Amazon because the price is so much better.

  3. I’m a college student. What’s money? 😛

    • It’s what you’re going to make lots of once you get your degree…hang in there! And just as soon as you get that job, start a retirement fund, I’m serious…we always have reasons why we can’t do it now, just do it!

      • Oh I will. I was already planning on it. At this rate, it’s likely law or government related or both!

      • Believe it or not, that was what I started out studying at good old Indiana University all those years ago…

  4. There is a realy good ebook called “How To Keep More Of Your Money: Easy Ways To Save Thousands” by Marshall Davis that has more than 200 ways to save money if anyone is interested. Just sharing valuable info…

Leave a Reply

