Blizzard, anyone?

I had to be at work at 5 this morning…it was snowing, but the full brunt of the storm hadn’t hit yet at that time.  We were at work for a few minutes when the phone started ringing…and ringing again and again…with call-ins.  I couldn’t really blame any of the associates for calling in…the snow had started coming down hard with a nasty wind blowing it all over the place.  After talking with the district manager, we decided not to open for the day and headed out.  Holy moly, the roads were in much more treacherous condition than they’d been only two hours earlier.  I turned a corner and the back end of my car fishtailed…it was good to see that the instinct to turn into the skid was still there (from all of those years of driving on snow-covered country roads).  When I was almost home, the visibility was so bad that I couldn’t see anything in front of me.  Finally made it home and trudged through the drifted snow…I changed out of my wet clothes and tried to warm up.  Ahh…it was so good to be home, safe and sound.

Later in the day, I decided to see how things looked outside…

blizzard 003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What is this?

What is this?

Spook trying to decide what to do about the snow drifted up against the kitchen door.  She’s a pretty smart kitty, she decided to walk away.

9 Responses

  1. Oh, wow, you did get a bunch of snow. I hate it when you get to work and then you have to safely make your way back home. Glad you got back safe and sound. The picture with Spook is so cute. Stay warm!

    • Yeah, it was a lot of snow for our area anyhow…the roads are in pretty good shape now though, so getting out and about isn’t all that bad today. Spook is fascinated by snow…I was ready to grab her if she decided to dive headfirst into the snow drift

      • Glad you can get out now. Our dogs used to love to run into a drift and use their noses to make a tunnel and then flip the snow over their heads. They were big dogs so we didn’t worry. It would be very different for little kitty. Hope you have a wonderful New Year!

  2. You got a lot of snow! Spook was counting her blessings to be an indoor cat. 🙂

    • She might have been..if not, I’ll have to remind her that she could have been stuck living in a big old drafty barn fending off coyotes and owls had I not adopted her (or did she adopt me?)…they’re saying we might get another six inches of snow tonight…wonderful, just wonderful…

  3. My word, that’s some snow! Glad you made it home safely. I love fishtailing–as long as there are no other cars around. Way to come out of one, Patti!

    • Thanks, Simone…we got another 4″ last night…looks like this winter will make up for our total lack of snow last winter…I wouldn’t have minded the fishtailing thing had there not been another car coming toward me…

      • 4 more inches. Yow-za, you guys are getting hammered.

        AAAHHHHH!!! That’s what I do when cars are coming at me. I close my eyes and scream. Although I didn’t admit it in my post today, I did while skee’ing. Loudly and shrilly in a very girly-girl way…lol.

      • Nothing wrong with screaming like a girl…since you are one! I don’t think I made a sound, just a little fist pump when I got it straightened out!

Leave a Reply

