Perfect autumn day and day 11 of NaNo

English: Bow Bridge over The Lake in Central P...

English: Bow Bridge over The Lake in Central Park on Thanksgiving Day 2010. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It was almost 60 degrees when I left for work this morning (oh, at around 5:30 this morning), not too bad for less than two weeks before Thanksgiving.  Other than it being pretty windy today, it was a gorgeous fall day.  Of course, I was at work all day, but I still made it outside a few times to check things out.  I don’t want to talk about tomorrow though, a drop of about 30 degrees and possible snow in the evening…what?  I’m not sure I’m ready for that!

Work flew by today, couldn’t believe how fast the day went.  After I finished setting the ad and had started on some other projects, I got a call from my boss (hmm…do I still call him that while he’s gone to another store and I’m acting manager at our store?  Not sure about the protocol for that.)  Anyhow…he told me that the district manager had just left his store and was on his way down to visit us!  Yikes!!  I’d have never figured that one since we just saw him on Thursday…It’s pretty good to have friends in the know, isn’t it?  So we had a good visit with the DM, got a good score on the visit, and lots and lots of customers in the store.

When I sat down to write my story for NaNo, I knew where the story was going.  This was a scene I’d been thinking about for quite some time.  So, in some ways, it was easier to write…you know, I didn’t have to think it through, didn’t have to wonder what was going to happen.  But I was surprised at how difficult it was to write.  I guess I’m emotionally invested in this one, I sure didn’t want that little boy to go through what he was getting ready to face…but…I got it going and faced my emotions.  I’m probably about a third of the way through this scene right now and I don’t think it will get any easier to write…I’ve kind of got that fluttery, uneasy feeling in the pit of my stomach about what the kid is going to have to deal with.  I just keep telling myself this is all going to make him into the man he’ll become.  So, we’ll see how tomorrow’s writing goes.

I did manage to pound out another 2047 words today, not going to complain about that.  Now if I can get this crazy kitten to stop jumping up on my while I’m trying to write.  And I’ve got a question for anyone who’s writing a lot (NaNo or other writing), anyone else have an eye twitch?  Mine’s driving me crazy!

4 Responses

  1. You are really rocking – with work and the writing! Eye twitch? I haven’t had that happen when I write – maybe I’m not writing enough – but I do get that twitch when I’m under a lot of stress. And yes, it drives me crazy.

  2. I don’t like the sound of that weather. What you get often finds its way to us. Happy to hear your second visit with the DM went well. 🙂 Yay on the word count! I don’t know how to overcome kitties wanting attention. They always seem to want to be right in the middle of what’s going on.

    • Well, if our weather is moving your way, you’ll be delighted with it when it gets there…sunny and crisp today…really nice! Crazy cats…but I wouldn’t want to not have them around either…

Leave a Reply

