Two weeks before Thanksgiving and NaNo, day 8

Thanksgiving 2011

Thanksgiving 2011 (Photo credit: thisreidwrites)

Can you believe it?  It’s only two weeks until Thanksgiving!  I don’t know how in the world that happened…it’s crazy!  Are you ready to get together with family and friends?  Going to have a nice meal with your loved ones?  Going to do some early shopping?

I’ll have the dinner, then I’ll have to go to work, seriously.  I put a sign up sheet in the break room to try to get some volunteers to work that evening.  So far I have a few people who’ve been good enough to sign up, but I need more.  Oh my…I know no one wants to have to work on a holiday, I sure don’t.  But…we know it comes with the territory when we take the job…wish me luck getting enough folks to work so I don’t have to draft them…

Had a good visit from the district manager today.  He scored me higher than I probably would have, but I’ll take it.  He really is a pretty good guy…wants us to succeed and run good stores and is willing to help us in whatever way he can.

And writing?  Well, that went fairly well tonight.  I thought I was done for the night then, when I checked my word count, I decided I could probably manage another 200 or so words to break the 20,000 word mark.  Unfortunately, no giggles or tears with my story tonight.  But it did come fairly quickly…not sure if that’s a good thing or not.

I hear my bed calling me tonight.  At least I have the day off work tomorrow, don’t have to hear that alarm in the morning (or middle of the night, if you will).  I’ve got a few errands to run.  Need to get the oil changed in the car tomorrow and get it ready for winter (had frozen fog on the windows this morning…that was nuts).  And maybe I’ll manage to get a nap in…ahh…

 

8 Responses

  1. I hope you enjoy your day off! Frosty windows–don’t like the sound of that. Retail is what it is, though I wish for the “old” days when it comes to Sundays and holidays. Blessings on all those who give up family time when the job calls.

  2. Thanks, Patti…yeah, I agree..from my perspective it would be nice to actually get holidays and Sundays off, but I don’t think there’s any going back..too much money to be made…

  3. Good luck to you on your oil change, Patti. Be careful eyeing what’s there on the lot while you wait. You might see a real beauty and end up having crazy thoughts like me. ha ha

    • Haha! I’m not much of a car person,Simone. As long as it looks okay and drives well (and doesn’t cost me an arm and a leg to drive), I don’t really care what kind of car it is. Believe it or not, I walked right by some new cars, paying them no mind!

  4. You are one busy lady! Hope you get your volunteers. Congrats on your good rating at work! AND in the midst of all this …. you keep writing! Good for you!

    • I sometimes think the writing is a pretty good stress reliever. There are days when I’m too tired to string together anything that makes any kind of sense at all, but I usually at least give it a whirl.

Leave a Reply

