NaNo, day 2, does it count if you don’t write?

Pen to Paper

Pen to Paper (Photo credit: Orin Zebest)

It probably doesn’t, does it?  Count, that is.

You see, it’s like this…I went in to work at six this morning to try to get a little done before we got crazy busy.  It was another one of those non-stop days.  Then, on top of all of the tasks I was trying to accomplish, the district manager showed up.  It’s not as bad as it sounds, he’s a pretty good guy.  We talked a little about some of the things I could do to make my job a little easier.  He had some good advice, so that’s a good thing.

Anyhow, I found myself moseying out of the joint around 6:30 this evening…tired and hungry.  I fully intended to write tonight, but have changed my mind.  I’m having trouble focusing and would be afraid to read anything I might write tonight.  So…early to bed…sleep in (no alarm blaring…yes!), then sit down for 3 or 4 writing sessions tomorrow.

Not writing tonight puts my official word count at 1788…goal to be over 10,000 by the end of the day on Sunday.

6 Responses

  1. Argh, I had one of those days too. Don’t worry about it. We’ll get caught up tomorrow. All we have to do is finish by the end of the month!

    • That’s right!! I’ve sat down to two writing sessions today (so far) and am now at a little over 5400 words…so caught up, at least. I’m planning to do at least two more writing sessions today…would dearly love to get to 10,000 words today and 15,000 by the end of the day tomorrow.

  2. I hope you have some good tips to help with your job. Get a good night’s rest, I’m sure you’ll make up for lost time. 🙂

    • Got my word count caught up and possibly my sleep too…went to bed around 9:30 last night and didn’t get up until about ten minutes before eight…ahh…felt so good…until I called in to work and no one answered the phone…then I was thinking I’d have to make a quick trip in to find out what was going on…but they were just late getting in…ha! JUST late…oh my…can’t leave ’em alone for even five minutes!!

  3. While it still counts as day 2, it doesn’t mean you are derailed! Every year, I have a couple days where despite my best intentions, no words get written. Your plan to have s handful of writing sessions today will easily offset yesterday!! 🙂

    • Thanks, Cheryl..yeah, when I did camp NaNo this summer, I had a couple of days where I didn’t write and still easily finished with a couple of days to spare. And I’m now more than caught up, with at least a couple more writing sessions to go.

Leave a Reply

