NaNo, day 1, the fun begins

nanowrimo

nanowrimo (Photo credit: evilnick)

Whew…long day at work today…eleven and a half hours of non-stop action and fun (ahem).  I even forced myself to stop at PetSmart after work…figured I wouldn’t want to do it tomorrow any more than I did tonight, and the crazy little felines were out of treats (am I the only person who gives their cats treats daily?  I don’t think so…).

Did the usual after I got home, threw a load of laundry in, fixed a little dinner, checked in on Facebook, then remembered that IU had an exhibition game, had to watch that.  At half-time, I decided I’d start my writing for NaNoWriMo.  I ended up writing 1788 words and still made it back to see the last half of the second half (not a particularly exciting game, IU way up so I knew I wasn’t missing much).

I’m trying to quiet that inner critic who is telling me that my start isn’t all that good…you know, should I make it more like this, should I change the voice, should I have started somewhere else?  But, I started where I started and now I’m going to see where it leads me.  Seems like there are times when your characters kind of take over the telling of your story and take it where they want it to go…let’s see if that happens here.

Tomorrow’s going to be another early, long day…so I’m thinking I’m going to have to hit the sack and try to settle my thoughts so I can get some rest…you know, so I can do it all again!!

12 Responses

  1. You did have a really long day AND you wrote, too. You should give yourself a reward!

    • Well…I must admit that I did give myself a couple of the peppermint bark Ghiradelli squares last night…love those things!

      • Oh, good! Those things are wonderful, as are Reese’s peanut butter cups – you don’t even have to unwrap the miniature ones! LOL Have fun writing this weekend. You are an inspiration. I’m not working on a novel so I didn’t sign up for NaNo, but I’m trying to write everyday.

      • Don’t you find it easier to write good, entertaining material when you get yourself back into the habit of writing daily? Maybe writing is like any skill, the more you practice it, the better you become.

      • Yes, I do think it is easier to write when I do it daily. It’s a skill and an art, I think. One which drives me crazy some days! LOL. But I don’t want to give it up. I want to believe there is a book in me somewhere!

      • I’m sure there is…the struggle to bring it out, oh I don’t know, kind of like giving birth???

  2. You got a good start on your word count. That’s what matters most at this point. Great job! You might have had a couple angry characters to deal with had you not stopped at PetSmart!

    • Thanks, Patti. I actually have most of the weekend off, so I’m going to sleep in tomorrow morning…right now that sounds almost like heaven. And yes, the babies would have been slightly annoyed had I not brought home their treats…gotta keep the babies happy.

  3. Way to get that horse out of the barn, Patti!

  4. I think you deserve some reward candy for the day you had! And no, you are not the only ne who gives those little fluffballs treats daily. We even put some out for the regular neighborhood kitties that visit us! Suckers, I know… 🙂

    • Aww…putting treats out for the neighborhood kitties is such a sweet thing to do…do you ever get possums or racoons stopping by for a treat? I did have a little candy after my crazy day yesterday.

Leave a Reply

