Thinking about folks on the east coast today

Hurricane Sandy & Marblehead [Front Street 9]

Hurricane Sandy & Marblehead [Front Street 9] (Photo credit: The Birkes)

As many people across the country have been doing, I’ve been thinking about people who have been impacted by Hurricane Sandy.  My niece is out east (my pregnant with her first baby niece!!), so of course we’re all worried about her and her husband.  Thank goodness for social media sites which allow us all to stay connected…no waiting for days (or even weeks) to find out how everyone is doing.  She posted on Facebook this morning that they hadn’t even lost power this time.

And I have several friends who live on the east coast, all of whom have weathered Sandy’s temper tantrum…most made it through with just minor damage…and lots of standing water…and lots of amazing pictures.

When I see the pictures and videos of the hurricane, I’m always in awe of how powerful nature can be.  There are times we attempt to battle nature and then there are times when the wise course of action is to simply retreat and return another day.  As sad and devastating as the property damage is, buildings can be rebuilt.  Our friends and families are of much greater value than any building.  As long as they stay safe, we’ll be all right.

For anyone who has suffered the loss of a loved one or damage to your home or business, I’m deeply sorry.

On a lighter note…I was shocked (although I probably shouldn’t have been) to discover how many of the pictures of the hurricane being posted on social media sites (the shark swimming in a yard in New Jersey, the soldiers at Arlington National Cemetery, the swirling cloud over the Statue of Liberty to name just a few) were either photoshopped (Statue of Liberty, shark) or had been taken at some other time (the photo of the soldiers was actually taken last month, not while Sandy was striking).  I don’t know why this surprised me.  It just seemed so wrong to fake pictures when there was so much suffering happening in real time.  Ah well…that’s my rant for the day.

Stay safe and stay dry, my friends.

 

3 Responses

  1. Photography isn’t the same as it used to be. I did see where someone updated the one from Arlington. Will the next generation know what their relatives really looked like? One more day, and you’ll be writing like a crazy woman! 🙂 Glad your niece and family are ok.

    • I know…I kind of wanted to start writing tonight, but talked myself out of it…fair is fair and right is right, right? And thanks for the comment about my niece and her family…

  2. […] Thinking about folks on the east coast today (run4joy59.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

