What do your dreams mean?

Canterbury Flats, St Kilda

Canterbury Flats, St Kilda (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Haven’t you ever wondered that?  Especially after you wake up and remember a wild and crazy dream that has no basis in reality?  You can’t figure out why you had that particular dream or what it means.  I don’t know, maybe there isn’t any meaning at all in our dreams, but I’ve always kind of felt that they were somehow our subconscious talking to us.  But then, folks have told me I’m crazy, so who knows?

Anyhow, last night (after a day of feeling sick) I had one of those dreams that don’t seem to make much sense at all.  For some reason, I was spending the night in a young guy’s apartment (alright now, stop thinking like that…he wasn’t there…and maybe was never coming back…can’t really remember that part of it).  I was thinking about moving in to his apartment and leaving my townhouse.  The only problem (well, one of the problems) with that was that his apartment was not even a studio apartment…just a tiny living space and a shower…the toilet was in a shared hall…not even in a room!  I could have fit his entire living space in my kitchen…and still was considering moving there.

I did consider the cats, how they would adapt to such a small living space when they’re used to two stories, stairs that they can run up and down, lots of rooms where they can sleep in the sunshine all day long.  I considered them, but apparently not much…I was still thinking of moving in there.

He also had no kitchen, just a microwave…come to think of it, I didn’t even see a refrigerator…yeah, that would work!

I was going to keep his furniture…let’s see…a black and chrome oversized chair and a chrome table for the computer…that was pretty much it…and even that was a tight squeeze.

So…why in the world would I have this dream?  What’s the significance of the move?  Especially the move to such a tiny space?  Who knows?  Maybe I’m feeling hemmed in by the stress in my life…or maybe I’m being told I need to downsize…or maybe this didn’t mean anything at all?  Hmm…I think that’s the one I’m going with…I’m feeling claustrophobic at the thought of living in a closet with two cats…

12 Responses

  1. A lot of my dreams are rather awesome. I stopped having any sort of bad dreams years ago. I want all my dreams to come true!

  2. Especially two cats that don’t get along! LOL I think you were gearing up for NaNoWriMo, a place to write & not much else matters. 🙂

  3. Really love your blog, Patti! I admire your elegant but plainspoken style.

  4. I have some crazy dreams sometimes. They may not make sense, but they’re often entertaining.

    Last week, I had a dream that my friend nicked a guy from me and then was totally mean-girl about it. FTR, this is someone who would never EVER act like that in real life. I woke up laughing and was like “Not even!”

    • That’s funny…did you tell your friend about the dream? And did you happen to know the guy in the dream? Seems like I have a lot of people in my dreams that I don’t even know…

Leave a Reply

