My NaNo planno

Eleven more days to go before NaNo starts…November 1.  Yes, I’m looking forward to it, but I’m also just a little nervous about tackling this whole writing 50,000 words thing in November.  I work in retail and this is the craziest, busiest, most stressful time of the year for us.  So…am I nuts for attempting this at this time?  I guess we’ll find out over the course of the next five weeks or so.

Someone asked me yesterday what kinds of plans I’ve devised to accomplish my writing goal.  One of the things I did during the month I completed Camp NaNo (June of this year) was to tackle the writing right away…get in extra words in the beginning.  That was a huge help as, of course, there were days when I didn’t manage to hit the minimum on the word count.  So I’m definitely going to do that at the beginning of next month.

I’m also going to do a super-duper thorough housecleaning right before I start the challenge so I can keep the house straightened up with just the basics…you know…laundry, dishes, cat litter and then some cleaning on my days off from work.  I’m not going to spend any time during November worrying about keeping the house spotless (oh wait…I don’t spend much time worrying about that anyhow…).

Another thing I’m going to do is prepare a few freezer meals so I can eat healthy without having to put a lot of thought into it.  I don’t want to spend a lot of time cooking when I could be writing, but I definitely don’t want to be eating fast food either.

I think the main thing I’m going to do is simply enjoy the process.  I really loved doing all of that writing in June and actually found it to be relaxing rather than stressful.  I also enjoyed the feeling of accomplishment seeing that word count increase every day…looking forward to that again.  Oh yeah, and getting a book started was pretty cool too!

6 Responses

  1. It sounds like you have a good plan of preparation, which will lead to success. I would think getting lost in writing would get your mind off the other stress of the season. I think it’s a good thing. I’m with you on the housework! 😉

  2. Don’t think about it as 50,000 words; just think about the daily word count. How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time! 🙂

  3. Love your planno! You’re really organized for planning ahead for keeping your house running smoothly so you have time to devote to writing. Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

