WARNING!!! Political post…

Colin Powell

Colin Powell (Photo credit: Scott Ableman)

…read no further if you’re sick of politics.  As a card-carrying member of the 47%, I’ve been trying to avoid political posts, comments, sharing on facebook, etc.  There’s no secret to the fact that my vote will be cast for Obama (and guess what?  I’ve worked since I was 14, have never depended on the government for assistance, don’t think anyone owes me anything…kind of not quite the stereotype that’s pushed on you, huh?), so I’ve been ignoring the rhetoric from the far right…I know who I am, I know what I believe…and I’m comfortable with that.

This post has more to do with what still strikes me as racism…one of my dear friends made the comment (on facebook with pictures) that Colin Powell was the man who should have been elected president.  Now, correct me if I’m wrong (and I know I’m not) but Colin Powell wasn’t nominated to run for president in the last election, right?  So, did that comment really mean that Colin Powell was the African-American man who should have been elected president???  It sure struck me that way.  The Republican party had every opportunity to nominate Mr Powell (had he been interested in the position), but they nominated McCain instead.

Now the funny thing about this whole thing is, Colin Powell is one of the few Republicans I’d even consider voting for at the national level…just don’t want my Republican friends to hold their breath waiting for him to be nominated by the party they hold so dear…I don’t think that’ll happen any time soon…and that’s a shame…but if you want General Powell to be elected to the office of the presidency, maybe you need to work to change the inner workings of your party.

14 Responses

  1. Well said! I’m voting in my first presidential election in November and yes, I’m voting for Obama.

  2. I truly relate to your post on this matter. I, too, don’t fit the stereotype of a President Obama supporter. I started working at age 13 as a serious babysitter for women who worked the night shift in our neighborhood. At 16, I worked as a tray girl after school at a local hospital from 4-8p.m. daily and all day on Saturdays and Sundays. Those high school girls who worked with me were from a well known catholic high school. The differences were race and economic means.
    They would drive by my bus stop at 8:15p.m. in their cars for their earnings went to what we called in our neighborhood “frivolous things” My parents worked hard and smart at times and would be highly insulted if someone assumed that they were depending on the gov’t for assistance, however, they had compassion for those whom by happenstance weren’t as fortunate.

    The blogs are full of debates as to whether or not race is the most fundamental issue in this upcoming election and for that matter the 2008 run and the past first term of the President. I say yes and I must say that I was no fan of President Bush but I respected the office and expressed my concerns without denigrating his character, calling him outrageous names, attacking his wife Laura, whom I personally liked.
    This family has had the most outrageous, vile and hateful things said about them and it’s getting worse as I write this comment.
    This President has been moderate by many standards and spent the first 2 yrs. of his Presidency reaching out to Republicans who
    made it clear that they weren’t about serving the people but making him a one term President. It has been ugly and my fear is that we haven’t seen anything yet as the election nears.

    There is a saying under Pearls of Wisdom on my blog that states: “We cannot silence the voices that we do not like hearing. We can, however, do everything in our power to make certain that other voices are heard.”
    ~Deborah Prothrow-Stith~

    I’ve been procrastinating about a post regarding this matter since my last entry August 24th based on a video debate by two scholars of color which are pro and con. Indignation suddenly becomes palpable when I begin writing the post and my concern is that I don’t want to sully my viewpoints and reason by allowing my anger to take over. One of my favorite authors Toni Morrison’s opinion about anger rings true for she cites:
    “Anger … it’s a paralyzing emotion … you can’t get anything done. People sort of think it’s an interesting, passionate, and igniting feeling —- I don’t think it’s any of that —- it’s helpless … it’s absence of control —- and I need all of my skills, all of the control, all of my powers … and anger doesn’t provide any of that —- I have no use for it whatsoever.”

    I guess I’ll return to my draft and hopefully the final product will be informative, instructive and if nothing else encourage us to think past our biases and think with a little more compassion and understanding of the human condition. That old argument of individualism vs collectivism comes to mind. I don’t see them as becoming polar opposites and it would be something if we could take the best of these two concepts and come up with a different paradigm that makes America true to its highest ideals!

    BTW: This is by far the most I’ve said in a comment section since I began blogging. Your post was timely for me and I thank you for that.

  3. Thanks for your well thought out comments, Carolyn. I don’t mind debating politics, but I’d sure like to see some mutual respect in any debate…just because someone believes differently than we do doesn’t make them a “Marxist” or a “Nazi” or even a racist…the system begins to break down when we fail to acknowledge that, in our country, we all have a right to express our opinions…and that even if our opinion is not in the majority, it doesn’t make us un-American.

    I’m looking forward to reading your post, Carolyn.

  4. I’m tired of all the political ads and phone calls. I didn’t stop reading, because I consider you a friend, and your opinion matters. I plan to vote for Romney. I don’t like the direction our country is going on moral issues, for one. But I respect the office, and will continue to pray for our nation and leaders, because it is going to take more than one man to get our people back to work.

    • Thank you, Patti…I would give you the same respect…see, if we can have such differing views and not hate each other, why can’t the politicians do what’s right for our country…or at least seriously discuss it, instead of simply deciding that they aren’t going to do something just because one of their opponents happens to support it (I’m specifically thinking about the bill relating to veterans in this instance)…it’s like the good of our country has become an afterthought.

  5. I, too, have heard MANY racist remarks. I keep thinking, “It is 2012 and you’re still making racist remarks and then acting like you didn’t?” And what gets me is that some of these people making the remarks honestly don’t put 2 and 2 together. They don’t realize how racist their remarks are. I don’t care if someone doesn’t like Obama for his politics. But if they’re judging someone on their skin color, maybe they need to be sent to some sort of class on how this country was founded because guess what! WHITE PEOPLE WERE THE OUTSIDERS! Native Americans/American Indians were the original people of this land and they aren’t white; they’re brownish colored. (I say this as a person of this descent.)

    I think you and I are similar about General Powell. He’s a fine man. He wasn’t elected as a candidate. He is not a consideration. If people want him as a candidate then they should have put him in that role. Frankly, I think he would have made a fine candidate. And not because of his color or party affiliation.

    My party affiliation is INDEPENDENT. My vote will be cast for a Democrat this year. Our current President hasn’t done everything right, but at least he does act thoughtfully and tries to help the majority of our country. The things I have heard from the Republican side this year have made me cringe and have often made me wonder if these people are even American. The Republicans this year have alienated so many and have angered others. It makes me wonder what he would do on a world-wide scale if he actually won. Who would he make mad who actually could press a button that was attached to something nuclear?

    • Pretty frightening, isn’t it…

      • It does scare me. In one of my blogs, which I think you read and commented, I wrote that Romney scares the hell out of me. And I meant it. I mean, I just think of the gaffes he has made in the last four months. Some were on American soil and some were overseas. As President, you can’t act that way or say that stuff! Remember when his aide told the press to “kiss my ass”? OMG! That was in Europe!

  6. […] WARNING!!! Political post… (run4joy59.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

