Naturally Slim…week 2

SparkPeople.com Featured Motivator, December 2...

SparkPeople.com Featured Motivator, December 21, 2008 (Photo credit: zorbs)

I’m pretty excited about the success I had during week 1 of the program…ended up losing 6 pounds in the first week.  Yes, that sounds like  lot, but anyone who has battled a weight problem knows that you usually drop quite a few pounds during the first week.  Yikes!  Does that mean I’m normal???

Anyhow, altogether I’ve now lost 8 pounds and have been exercising almost every day.  I walk on the days I have to work and dance on my days off.  Walking is easier on my joints, but dancing is way more fun and burns a lot more calories.  I’ve got a long way to go to get to where I was two years ago when I ran my first 5K, but I’m working at it.

Today I dug out my SparkPeople cookbook to look for something to cook that would be good to take to work for my lunch for the rest of the week.  I decided to try one of the most popular recipes at SparkPeople…slow cooker salsa chicken.  Holy moly!  That stuff is delicious (go to SparkRecipes.com and do a search for it..you won’t regret it).

One of the things I’ve noticed in the past week is that, by eating slowly (and I do mean slowly…you know, putting your fork down between every bite and really taking the time to taste your food) I’m eating a lot less food.  Most days I’m struggling to eat over 1200 calories…not a bad problem to have in my situation.  By eating at such a slow pace, I find myself satisfied much sooner.  Now how many times over the course of my life have I heard that and just dismissed it?  Now I know it’s true…just got to do it…every meal…every day…

During the online course work I did today, they mentioned that usually, when a person loses quite a bit of weight during the first week, they lose none or very little the second week…hmm…can I prove them wrong?  We shall see.

My goals for this week…exercise 6 days, follow the NS principles, visit SparkPeople.com every day to track food intake and exercise.  I can do it!

12 Responses

  1. You can do it. Go Patti! Go Patti!

  2. I believe in you Patti! You can do it!

  3. Good for you! It’s so nice to see that obstinate needle on the scale move!

    • It sure is…and the thing about this program is the retraining to actually recognize when you’re hungry and when you’ve had enough instead of just mindlessly eating…

  4. Good job! I’ve been using MyFitnessPal and I had dropped a lot of weight from there! Keep up the good work 🙂

  5. How is sparkpeople? I downloaded the app after reading your blog. I was part of myfitnesspal but this one seems to be better. Mfp wants you to eat back your exercise calories wjich make absolute no sense to me!

    • I really, really like sparkpeople…common sense, free exercise videos, lots of info…yeah, eating back your exercise calories seems a little over the top…

Leave a Reply

