Short vacation at Amish Acres

Amish Acres, an Amish crafts and tourist attra...

Amish Acres, an Amish crafts and tourist attraction in Nappanee, Indiana. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I haven’t really taken a true vacation in a while.  Yes, I’ve taken time off work…sure…but that isn’t really taking a vacation, is it?  Isn’t that just taking vacation time because, well, because you have it.  But some friends and I are driving up to Nappanee in northern Indiana to visit Amish Acres where they will be having one of the best arts and crafts shows I’ve ever been to.  I’m really looking forward to getting away even for just a day.  And I figure I can manage to squeeze out at least two more blog posts about this, so that’s always a good thing.  Note to self…remember to charge battery in camera…my phone doesn’t take very good pictures…

Anyhow, one of our customers is actually going to have a booth at Amish Acres…how exciting is that?  I’ve already looked it up on the map, so I can make sure to stop by and visit…and who knows?  Just may have to buy something.  They make gorgeous wire jewelry…even gave me a pair of earrings a couple of years ago when I placed a special order for them.  I just think it’s kind of cool that I actually know one of the exhibitors at a show this huge!

Why in the world do I not get out and do fun things like this more often?  Anyone want to go to the Covered Bridge Festival with me this fall?

3 Responses

  1. Both sound like fun, wish I could go with you!

    • They are both a lot of fun…Amish Acres is totally handcrafted items, nothing from China or wherever…Covered Bridge used to be that way, but now a lot of the vendors are bringing in things they didn’t actually make…it’s still fun though…you’d be surprised at how many covered bridges there are in this area…I need to get some pictures of those…

  2. I haven’t been to an arts and crafts show in a while. They are so much fun, and even more so when you know one of the exhibitors. I find it hard to get away sometimes too and when I go, I always have so much fun and ask myself the same question as you -why don’t we do this more often? May not be a week long vacation, but it’s still fun and can help re-charge your batteries. Hope it was fun!

Leave a Reply

