Life’s ups and downs

English: Jump! Deutsch: Spring!

English: Jump! Deutsch: Spring! (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Oh my…how in the world do you manage to face the ups and downs in your life and still maintain a positive outlook and cheerful attitude?  I know it can be done, I know people who do it.  And what?  Do they face less stress than the rest of us?  Do they not have problems?  Of course that’s not it.  We all know that’s not how it is.  Everyone has stress, everyone has problems.  Some folks simply handle those things better than others.

I’ve allowed the stress at work to affect my attitude even when I get home.  I don’t want to live like that.  One of the girls I work with (I was told, by a co-worker, that I should refer to the women I work with as “girls”, otherwise they feel as old as their mothers…hmm…) asked me if I was still walking and exercising daily.  When I told her I wasn’t, she asked me why.  When I told her I wasn’t doing anything like that because I’m depressed…well…that kind of hit me.

Do I not realize by now that daily exercise is the cure for depression?  That eating a healthy diet makes me feel better about everything else in my life?  That following my passion allows me to shake off the stress from work when I leave the building?  Uh…yeah…I do realize all of those things.  So why haven’t I been doing them?  I mean, I can only blame depression for so long…then there comes a time when I have to take responsibility for myself and do what I need to do to feel better.

I’m pretty much thinking that time is now.  Time to get back to exercising.  I’ve been eating better, more fruit and veggies, less vending machine food, less fast food, taking my lunch to work.  So I feel like I’ve taken a few steps in the right direction as far as food is concerned.  Now to add a few minutes of exercise to my daily routine.  And to spend at least some time every day doing something that I enjoy…whether that be writing, dancing, music, going for a walk in the park, hitting the farmers market…whatever…there are so many choices, I just need to convince myself to do something that makes me smile.

I want to wake up looking forward to the day ahead rather than dreading it.  And there’s no time like now to start this new way of dealing with life.  I’m going for it!

10 Responses

  1. Go for it! Cheering you on! 🙂 I’ve exercised three of the last four days. Must have been a summer slump or something hit us. 🙂

  2. I can definitely relate to this! Go for it, only with stubbornness and not giving up no matter what, will you win the race. And remember, it’s a marathon, not a sprint!

    • A marathon? Do you know how long a marathon is? Ha!! I would love to get back to running (not marathons tho)…I felt so up when I was running consistently.

      • Yes! You know how long life is?! Which was the point 🙂
        I would love to start running, but I’m having this leg problem right now which prevents that.

  3. I know the feeling. Whenever I feel down, which isn’t a lot, when I do my workout for the day it makes me feel better.

    Considering I’m still trying to move on past a break up, despite the fact it was mutual and we parted amicably, it’s still hard so I’m trying to keep my focus on friends and keeping my chin up. Exercising helps with that, especially considering I’m doing an intense regimen every day called Insanity.

  4. Good for you! Love the picture you put with this post about the two times when we feel stress! Maybe it’s the time of year. I got off track too with writing, exercising, etc. but decided to make more of an effort to get back to doing some things for myself. So here’s to smiling and having some fun!

    • Maybe it does have something to do with the time of year or something like that…seems like a lot of folks have kind of stumbled a bit of late.

Leave a Reply

