Camp NaNo, day 21

nanowrimo, day 16 goal

nanowrimo, day 16 goal (Photo credit: paloetic)

I came home from work hot and tired.  Talked to the neighbor for a while (he was sitting outside with his dog when I pulled up…I know, it’s so miserably hot that I can’t even imagine sitting out there for any period of time).  I stepped inside and the kitten (I’ve got to come up with a name for her sometime) was sleeping on the couch.  I grabbed her to introduce her to the neighbor.  I was a little worried about how she would react to the dog, but this little kitten is unafraid of anything.  Not sure if that’s a good thing or not…could prove dangerous in some situations.  Anyhow, she seemed to enjoy seeing what was happening out there in the big, bad world.  She watched a low-flying jet go by, kind of seemed to find that interesting.   Then we came back into the blessed air conditioning…ahh…

After doing a few every day chores, I convinced myself to sit down at the computer, thinking I’d probably do well to  write 500 words today.  Wrote 200 words, got up to do something else, planning to sit down and write another 200 words.   I only write like that when I’m not feeling it, just doing it to get in the word count and then it ends up not being worth reading.  But the second time I sat down, it started to move and I ended up with a little over 1400 words for the day.  Still not sure how much of it was worth much, but some of the dialogue ended up being pretty decent. So maybe it was worth it after all.

I’m pretty excited!  My word count for the month has now exceeded  40,000!  How cool is that?

 

4 Responses

  1. Over 40,000! That’s something to cheer about! Hip Hip Hooray!!

    • I’m pretty excited about it. I’m trying not to think about how much work still needs to be done to actually whip it into shape for publication…want to get those 50,000 words completed first. Did you sign up to get your five free paperback books for being a winner in NaNoWriMo last November?

  2. Awesome! Great job!

Leave a Reply

