We have a new addition to our family

Spook’s kitten

Yep, I finally did it.  Finally got Spook a kitten…not that she’s all that fond of her yet.  But it’s so funny to watch this little fearless kitten run out at Spook and Spook hiss and arch her back…really Spook, that kitten is about a fourth your size, okay maybe a third…but still.  I intended to keep them separated for a few days, but the kitten had other ideas and escaped from the room where I was keeping her.

I haven’t come up with a name for her yet…they had named her DeeDee at the shelter, but I don’t like that so I’m just going to see what strikes my fancy as I get to know her personality.  She is extremely active (well, she is a kitten), but she also fell asleep in my lap…sweet.

I hope she’s able to get Spook to warm up to her soon…I really want to see them cuddling and keeping each other company while I’m at work..so we’ll see how that works out!

10 Responses

  1. I love it! What a cute kitty! I hope she and Spook become friends quickly. Spook may find an energetic little one as entertaining as we do.

    • Hopefully she will…Spook is still quite playful under normal circumstances…right now she’s just kind of hunkered over doing a little kitty growling whenever the little one gets too close. But I think the little one will win her over.

  2. What a sweetie! Haven’t got a name yet? Hmmmm? If you have a Spook, what about a Boo? LOL Congrats!

    • Boo definitely would go with Spook…I’m just going to wait a few days and see what fits her.

      • That’s what now ex and I did with Chloe. When he finally looked at her and said, “I think she is a Chloe” I knew he was right. Soleil was pretty immediate. She is golden like the sun and so I call her my little sunshine. Soleil fit perfectly. Her now ex-daddy and I both spoke a little French so it was perfect for her. I sing “You Are My Sunshine” to her sometimes. 🙂

      • That’s pretty much what I’ve always done with my cats…otherwise I end up calling them “kitty” or “little one” and who want a name like that?

  3. She’s a pretty little girl. I like her expression you captured in the pic.

    • It’s hard to get a picture of her…well, it’s easy to get a picture of her side or her back since she moves around so much…not a lot of posing for pictures in this little girl.

  4. Congrats KittyMommy 🙂

    • Thanks, Christine…she’s a sweetie. And good news! Spook and “the kitten who is still nameless” were sleeping on my bed side by side today…well, sort of…Spook was under the comforter and the kitten was snuggled up next to her on top of the comforter so there’s a pretty good chance Spook didn’t know about this sleeping arrangement…but it’s promising.

Leave a Reply

