Camp NaNo, day 13

Each day a shadow onward cast

Each day a shadow onward cast (Photo credit: Duncan~)

Pretty  good writing day here.  Worked a little on my short story for the blog…did two sessions for camp NaNoWriMo (ended up with 2476 words for the day…and I think, one really good sentence!!  After I wrote that sentence, I reread it and thought, “Hmm…that actually sounds like something you might find in a real novel.”)…so, I find myself feeling some encouragement from that.

Funny, I woke up in the middle of the night and the first thing that popped into my head was, “Who am I trying to fool here?  What makes me think I can write anything that anyone would want to read?”  And then I went back to sleep…thank goodness!  So, where did that middle-of-the-night self-doubt come from?  Am I trying to avoid taking this risk?  Is it that pesky fear of failure?  Am I trying to convince myself to give up?  I suppose it could be any or all of these things…or something else entirely…or even nothing.

But the fact that I went ahead and wrote today, even after those questions in the dark, and that I wrote one good sentence…well, I think that’s what it’s all about.  Doing what I am not sure I can do, deciding to keep moving forward in the face of my self-doubts…those are major accomplishments for me.  Onward and upward with the stories!

9 Responses

  1. You’re doing great!

  2. I think it just comes with the territory. The ups and downs. I don’t have those with anything else in my life except writing. I try to ignore both and keep forging ahead.

    • I wish I could say I didn’t have those ups and downs in any other area of my lfe…but yeah, writing seems to be the area where they are most prevalent…guess writers, perhaps being solitary by nature, have more time to ponder life’s oddities…

      • Another thing I was thinking too is because of the messages we’re always getting from the outside. As an example, when I tell people I’m a writer I get weird responses. One is “Like manuals?” And a common one is “I always thought I should write a book.” Um, hello. When someone tells me they’re a librarian, I’d never be so rude as to say, “I’ve always thought I should check out books for people.” !!!

    • People do say some strange things sometimes, don’t they?

  3. I have all the same doubts, but I just work through them and hope I write something people will want to read. What’s important is that you write for you, what you think and what you feel. Be true to you. I think people respond better to that. Keep it up and good luck!

  4. Another great writing day! Celebrate!!

Leave a Reply

