Camp NaNo, day 8

NaNoWriMo Camp

NaNoWriMo Camp (Photo credit: arboltsef)

Oh my goodness, I am one tired chicklet tonight.  I had to close last night (work) then work a mid-shift today.  The problem with those darn mid-shifts is you don’t have time to do anything before work and you don’t have time to do anything after work…boo!!

 

Well, okay…so that’s not entirely true…I did write a little over 600 words in my novel this morning and another 1000+ tonight, so still hit my goal for the day.  Right now I’m at 18126 words altogether…most of it’s…you know…less than spectacular.  But some of it’s not bad.  I’m just amazed at how much writing I’m doing.

 

If I can write this much while participating in Camp NaNoWriMo, why can’t I do this on a regular basis?  Seriously.  Why do I need external motivation to do something that I really, really want to do?  Something to mull over, huh?  But…the really cool thing is…I’m doing it!

 

 

4 Responses

  1. After writing like that for 30 days, you may develop a “habit” of writing daily. Trust me, you will feel like something is missing the first day you don’t “have” to write. 🙂 Keep up the good work! Our writers group was told if we came away with one fantastic sentence, it was worth it.

    • Now that makes me feel better…”if we came away with one fantastic sentence, it was worth it”…I think that’s a good way to look at it~

  2. I usually look at NaNo as being more about teaching yourself to write regularly than writing well. Writing well comes with time and experience, which won’t happen unless you write regularly.

Leave a Reply

