Remember…typewriters?

Portable Typewriters

Portable Typewriters (Photo credit: alexkerhead)

I know there are a lot of you out there who have never used a typewriter…who have always used a computer for all of your writing needs.  But, for those of us just a bit older (okay, maybe quite a bit older), we learned on a typewriter.  When I saw a picture of one that looked like my grandpa’s, I was reminded  of typing class in high school (none of this modern-day keyboarding for us, uh uh…we learned on a real typewriter).

I think the thing I remember the most about those classes is how loud it was, keys being pounded or pecked, the carriage being slung back into position when you got to the end of a line (that sound was actually my favorite memory of that class…if you were really good, you were able to kind of get a rhythm going…peck, peck, peck, peck…sling….peck, peck, peck, peck…sling), paper being pulled when the page was full and a fresh, crisp sheet being wound into place…ahh, yes…those were the days…well, kind of.

Honestly, I much prefer today’s technology over the typewriters of old…those things were heavy, there were times when you’d get ink all over yourself, and I was never able to type as many words per minute as I can now…of course, practice could have something to do with that…I’m sure I spend more time typing now than I ever did in high school…you know, being the smart-aleck, know-it-all kid that I was, I just knew typing wouldn’t really serve any purpose in my life!!  Ha!  And now I spend a big part of my life writing…who knew?

I do still have my grandpa’s typewriter tucked away in a closet upstairs, maybe I’ll pull that baby out, shine it up and use it as my inspiration to do a little more writing every day.  Or, at the very least, take a picture of it for a blog post!

7 Responses

  1. On a dark and stormy night, Snoopy wrote his best opening chapters on a typewriter while sitting on top of his dog house.

    Is it the best way to write right now? Probably not. But I do like them and have my dad’s manual from the early 60s ,,, probably always will. Good luck with Camp Nano!

    • My grandpa’s typewriter will always hold a special place in my heart, because it was his and is pretty cool looking, but not because I like typing on it…haha

  2. Do I remember typewriters ha ha. Way back in the 80s my hs typing class got 2 electrics so we’d fight over who had to use the manuals. I can’t even imagine hitting the return lever every time I came to the end of a line these days.

    Thanks for making me feel old Patti 🙂 My kid told me he doesn’t know how I stood watching movies back in the 1900s. They were all so lame. Back in the 1900s lol.

    • Hey, you know…I aim to please!! Yeah, those films from the 1900s were pretty lame…funny!!
      As cool as I think typewriters are, I sure wouldn’t want to have to go back to them…one of the guys I work with reads my blog. When he came to work today, he was telling me how cool he thought it was that I was using a typewriter to write my book…yeah, right…

  3. That’s fabulous about your typewriter novel! A tip I remember. Get a big roll of butcher paper. That way you don’t have to keep sticking new sheets of paper in. You can just type madly for days until you’ve filled the roll of butcher paper.

  4. Love the looks of the early typewriters. My uncle had one, but don’t know what ever happened to it. Errors are much easier to correct these days!

  5. I’m only 24, but I remember type writers!! 😀 my grandpa had one and I could use it. When I was just this little kid I would type away haha. Not much sense came out, but that sound indeed the peck peck, sling and aaahhhh ❤ I just enjoy it.
    Which is why I love Q10 so much!! It's a writing program that fills up your entire screen (no distractions for you) and it makes a typewriter sound! peck peck peck, each key stroke and sling when hitting enter. I always giggle when I use it haha.

Leave a Reply

