Time to move on once again

A Crane for Each Child; Students Seek End to C...

A Crane for Each Child; Students Seek End to Child Abuse (Photo credit: ct senatedems)

I’ve decided it’s time to leave little Sean lying on his bed, trying to recover from the emotional and physical abuse he’s endured.  That  was a tough little series to write.  I really can’t understand child abuse.  I get that people who abuse have usually suffered abuse themselves…I get it, really I do.

What I don’t get is what is going on in an abuser’s mind that tells them that what they’re doing is okay?  I know that people who are a lot smarter than I am have given this issue a lot of thought over the years.  And that they don’t really have any more answers than I do…but I can’t help but question this.  And…then I find myself questioning why I’m writing about it…I think I just had to tell the tale.

So, in leaving little Sean behind for now, where do I go next?  There are stories begging to be told…stories from a hundred years ago, or fifty years ago, or ten years ago, or yesterday, or even stories from the future.  I guess we’ll have to wait and see which one comes out on top tomorrow.

 

7 Responses

  1. Can’t wait to read what you come up with! I have been really enjoying your writing so far 🙂
    As for the question you pose, I can somewhat understand, but I can’t really explain it… It’s like the understand is floating just above my reach and every time I almost get it, it floats just a little bit higher.
    I’d say watching Criminal Minds helps slightly with the understanding, hehe. Even though they don’t really cover the reasons for child abuse, they do cover the mindsets of serial killers and I think in that is a clue.

    • Thanks for the encouragement! I hate it when the answer is right there and then just keeps slipping away right before you grab hold of it! I think there are answers to most of our questions out there somewhere…in what other people come up with either in writing or television or movies…where ever…we just have to keep looking and learning.

  2. Are you sure you want to leave the story yet? Did you ever see the movie Slingblade? I don’t support vigilantism in the real world, but in fiction I Love it when bullies get their just dues. It seems to me it may be the just dues you’re grappling with? At this point, my feeling is you can burn the monsters alive for all I care. But if you need to stick them on the back burner to simmer a while before you decide what to do with them, I’m fine with that too.

    • hehe…I’ll be honest with you, Simone…I hate those monsters…is it crazy to feel that strongly about characters that you’ve created? But they’re part of a bigger story and it’s not quite time for them to get their comeuppance yet…will you be satisfied with what happens to them? Hmm…I don’t know, I find we’re often disappointed in real life when justice doesn’t work out the way we think it should…but…just remember, living well is often the best revenge…aww, who am I kidding? I want to see them suffer…big time!

  3. Would I be satisfied? I believe I would. Okay, maybe I was being a bit harsh with burning the monsters alive. Then again maybe not. It doesn’t seem they’d take a chance at redemption.The truly wicked never do. (Your story isn’t done so I’m making some assumptions.)

    • My personal belief is that people who abuse children or animals never change…not very positive and uplifting, I know…but…that’s how I see it. So…use your imagination about the redemption issue…haha

Leave a Reply

