Birthday treats

logo

logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Okay, today really isn’t my birthday…that was last month.  But my step-sister took me out to lunch today as a birthday treat!  And it really was a treat~

We went to Olive Garden where we both ordered our usuals..soup, salad and bread sticks along with iced tea….yum!  Then we sat there eating and talking for 2 hours!!  We haven’t been able to do that since I don’t know when…you know, everyone is so busy nowadays and it’s so difficult to coordinate our schedules.  But this was just the best way to spend the afternoon.

I feel so blessed that, when my mom and Kathy’s dad married, our families blended seamlessly.  I didn’t grow up with a sister, but I honestly feel like Kathy is the next best thing to a blood sister…heck, maybe even better…seems like when you grow up together you carry a lot of baggage in that relationship.  We all still get along well and enjoy spending time together…now if I can just see a little more of my niece and nephew and their families…

I’m still smiling over the pleasant visit we had today…thanks, Kathy…talk to you later!!

4 Responses

  1. Yum, Olive Garden. I have to drive 4 hrs to get to one but it’s worth it. I’m glad you got to do something fun. It’d be a cold, cold day in August before I’d sit and talk with my stepsister.

    So what’d you guys talk about? Did you talk about me?

    Just kidding. I’m happy for you Patti.

    • Well, fortunately for me, the Olive Garden in my town is about 2 blocks from where I work!! Too bad about your stepsister…Kathy and I have always gotten along…..which certainly made life easier at all of those family get-togethers!!

      Hmm…talking about Simone??? I’ll never tell!!

  2. Sounds like a wonderful time together. 🙂

    • It really was, Patti…I guess I should have thought to take a picture of the food on our table, huh? Then I wouldn’t have had to use that generic Olive Garden picture…oh well…

Leave a Reply

