Detour on the road to fitness

looking down a rocky mountainside in Norway wi...

looking down a rocky mountainside in Norway with a hairpin turn in a road far below (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Big time detour…the racing downhill and the brakes go out kind of detour…oh, and there’s a hairpin curve coming up…that kind of detour.  And the thing is, I know what brought it on…but I found it easier to just mindlessly eat than to face what was going on in my life.  I know that doesn’t help me deal with the issues…I know it just makes everything even worse, but that’s what I did anyhow…even knowing all that I know.  Is that crazy?  Or is that what passes for normal in my life?

I can feel myself edging closer and closer to recommitting to a healthier lifestyle.  Goodness knows, eating junk doesn’t solve anything.  What it did do was pack on the pounds, make me less fit than I was, and affect my self-esteem.  Not quite the route I want to go.

I just have to convince myself that I’m strong enough to get through whatever obstacles life throws in my way.  I may trip over those darn obstacles sometimes, but I can’t allow that to keep me down.  I want to get back to where I feel good in my own skin, where I have the energy to get out and do fun and exciting things again.  So…I’m going to continue working toward that elusive fitness…not easy when I’m also battling things in my life that aren’t going the way I thought they would…but…everyone deals with that at times, don’t they?  Just deal with it, do the best I can, and move forward…don’t let it derail my entire life…that’s my advice to myself today…

6 Responses

  1. Here I was all ready while reading your post to plunk out a bunch of advice for you and you concluded by giving yourself advice.

    It’s off topic but I’d never noticed before. You’re Capt Kirk’s neice???

    Also, happy belated birthday. I believe I let that one sail by me too. Sorry. 🙂

    • Thanks, Simone! Why yes, Uncle Jim (or Captain Kirk, as the rest of you know him) is my uncle…he’s a funny guy…maybe you can meet him sometime…you know, when he’s back on earth for a visit. And thanks for the birthday wishes…

  2. Sound advice, Patti. I need to remember the same thing more often myself. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

  3. Good advice to yourself! Sorry things aren’t going as you planned, or hoped. Looks like my diet is going to get more tweaking. Talked to my other doctor last week, she recommended a website, and low-carb diet like the South Beach diet. I’ve been trying to pay attention to what I’m consuming, going to start logging it on FitDay.com. I’m looking at a different exercise plan, too. I’ll let you know how that works out.

    • You’re always such an inspiration to me…you just keep moving forward…definitely let me know how the new diet and exercise plans work for you.

Leave a Reply

