What would you do with $640 Million?

Lottery Logo

Lottery Logo (Photo credit: Dj Linda Lovely)

For those of you who have been sleeping in a cave for the past several days, there’s a huge lottery jackpot up for grabs tonight!!  Did you buy your tickets?  I have to be honest here and tell you that I did not buy a ticket…I’m not much of a gambler…seriously, did you see the odds of winning?  Of course, someone will win (or several someones…or maybe no one will win tonight…yikes!!), so maybe I should have sprung a measly little dollar bill for a chance of a lifetime.

I like imagining what I’d do with all of that money…so tonight I started thinking about it…and you know what?  I couldn’t really come up with much that I’d jump right in and spend big bucks on.  I’d buy some land down home (in southern Indiana) and build a nice house with solar panels.  I’d need a pickup just because I’d be living out in the country and would need it to haul things in.  Hmm…what else?  Maybe that RV that I keep threatening to make my retirement home (if that day ever comes) so I could travel around and see the sights and visit the kids.  Then what?

Well, for sure I’d figure out some way to get IU basketball season tickets…I’m thinking all of those millions of dollars would go a long way in jumping me to the top of the waiting list…I’d go to every home game…heck, I could afford to go to every road game too, couldn’t I?  Go Hoosiers!!!

And then?  Well, heck…I just don’t know what else I’d do with that much money…donate a lot to my favorite charities, start a scholarship fund for students at my high school…maybe buy a new car for my boss…

And if I won tonight (assuming I’d purchased a ticket…haha), would I go to work tomorrow morning?  Well, I believe I would.  I think I wouldn’t really be able to believe I’d won the whole shebang until I showed up at the lottery headquarters and had everything verified.  Plus, I wouldn’t want Chris to have to come in on his weekend off…what would likely be his last weekend off for quite some time…because, yes, once I knew for sure that I’d won, I would definitely quit my job…I never believe people who say they wouldn’t.

So what are your plans for all of that loot?

5 Responses

  1. Well since I would only make it home with about 160 million, I think I could come up with a few things to spend it on! 😀 Paying off all the bills (student loans included), a reasonable house and new furnishings, some clothes shopping would be in order, a new car, share with most loved family and friends, donate to several charities, season tickets to my beloved Predators game (plus some trips to out of town games). After that I would spend my time working on my family tree work and traveling around to the places to find the paper work to prove the lines and several cruises when my son is out of school! At some point I think I would either go to work part-time or spend a good amount of time volunteering!

    • oh yeah, the season ticket thing is big, isn’t it? wouldn’t it be wonderful to be able to pay off allof your bills? Well, unless you bought your ticket in Maryland…there’s always the next big one!!

  2. A bunch of people where my hubby works go in together on tickets. He says he participates because he doesn’t want to be the only person left when the rest of them quit! I’d definitely get new living room furniture, and pay someone to do some interior painting.

    • funny about your husband…wouldn’t that stink, if your work group bought the winning ticket and you hadn’t chipped in???? isn’t it funny that we don’t really want much..considering the odds of actually winning,I guess that’s a good thing!

  3. I did win $150. 🙂 If I had won the who whopping thing, there are so many things I would have done. Oh how I love to dream about it. After taxes, 10% would go to God/Good Deeds. After that, I would buy myself a nice house and furnish it comfortably. I’d buy a new hybrid. I don’t need a fancy schmancy sports car. I need something smart. 🙂 I would also pay off every penny I owe. Then…the fun begins! TRAVEL! Learning. Painting. Writing. All the things I love. I couldn’t stay gone from home long. Cats don’t travel well and I couldn’t leave them for long. 🙂

Leave a Reply

