Hands in the dirt today

That’s right.  I had the day off work…it was 80 degrees (seriously, it was)…and the only thing I had to do was run over to the doctor’s office for a blood draw…in and out in less than 10 minutes.  So I had plenty of time to enjoy the early summer-like weather.

I decided to get outside and get my hands a little dirty…planted some lettuce (leaf lettuce, a mixture of varieties) and some radishes.  Ah…it feels so good to be able to go outside without a coat or jacket.   I have to admit, I was a little sweaty by the time I came back inside…I mean, 80 degrees…that’s like June kind of weather here in central Indiana.  But at least I got my little garden started…

lettuce from 2011 garden

11 Responses

  1. Can’t wait to see how your garden does. I’m going to start onions tomorrrow outside and a few thing likes tomatoes in the house. Love Spring!

    • How many tomato plants are you going to grow this year, Simone? I’m looking forward to some fresh tomatoes…what you buy in the store can’t compare.

      • I planted 30 heirloom seeds I’d saved indoors. The last couple of years have been dismal for tomatoes, but I’ll try again. Did my onion sets too. I had a productive day for once, lol.

      • Good for you, Simone!! Yeah, my tomatoes haven’t done all that well for the past couple of years either…let’s hope we both have better success this summer!!

  2. Oh your so lucky! 80 degrees…. we just had a snowstorm yesterday and this is the westcoast of washington, we usually have rain now! Can’t wait to see how things are growing for you.

    • We have had such a strange winter this year…we had one ice storm and a couple of little baby snows…man, I do not want snow at this time of year…hopefully yours has all melted by now.

  3. I’m loving this weather! Glad you had such a nice day off and got to play in the dirt. 🙂

    • I would like to have a nice little plot of land to have a series of raised beds to garden in, but for now, my containers on my patio will have to do…

      • Yes indeed I remember the days I did not have my own land. I was the young woman with lots of pots on my deck and outisde my apartment window. I still love to plant annuals on my deck. Love to grow my own flowers. Enjoy every moment it is a gift.

Leave a Reply

