The things kids say…

English: The kids in their mother store in Zan...

Image via Wikipedia

I had another fun-filled day at work today…crazy busy…trying to get a lot done and only succeeding in halfway finishing anything.  I did have an experience that had me chuckling the rest of the day though.

While on register, a little boy (I found out he was 6) came up and started talking to me.  Out of the blue, he swept his arm around and said, “These are all my brothers and sisters.  We all have the same mom, but have lots of different dads.”  What do you say to that?  Then he proceeded to tell me which of his brothers and sisters have the same dad.  Honestly, I had no idea what to say so I just told him that it sounds like they all have a lot of fun together.

Then he was telling me about some craft project he’d done…”When I did it before, I messed up.  So I’m going to do it again.  Last year I was only 5.  Now that I’m 6 I can do it better.”  I told him there were all kinds of things he could do better now that he’s 6.  I think I’ve made a new little friend.

His poor mother…she told me he was a talker…I think I believe it!

  • Kids (isingalto.wordpress.com)
6 Responses

  1. Ha ha ha. As a mom I know that feeling. I mean having a kid who just lays it all out there. Not the part about lots of different dads…whew, at least I did something right. It gets worse as a jabberbox kid gets older. My little tweenie announced in a serious manner to a Burger King load of strangers: My mom says if gas keeps going up, we’ll be riding to town on a mule!

    They all looked at me like I was a big weirdo. I guess my point is watch what you let your new little friend hear you say, lol.

    • That little boy’s older sisters were a little embarassed by his comments, I think. Oh well, that’s one of the things little boys do best…and riding to town on a mule (do you have a mule?) would be kind of fun for a while…as long as it wasn’t too cold, too hot, raining or snowing…

  2. My daughter said if I had kept a journal about my 29 years of teaching pre-school, she could have written a book. Some of those stories, I’ll never forget. Kids are so honest and forth coming with all kinds of info. Much of which the parents didn’t want repeated. Always good for a laugh. My advice to beginning teachers, keep a journal and a happy heart.

  3. I had a niece like that. Mom and I took her grocery shopping with us–ONCE. lol She didn’t have an “inside” voice, either!

Leave a Reply

