I Am Legend…or the book I thought I’d never finish

I Am Legend (film)

Image via Wikipedia

Okay, let me get this out there first thing, I am an avid reader…always have been.  I have favorite authors (James Patterson, Patricia Cornwell, John Sandford, Janet Evanovich, Iris Johansen, Lee Child, and so on) and I devour their books.  They always end much too quickly and then the long wait begins again for the next book that they’ve written to hit the bookstore (or Amazon’s page).

While I’m waiting for new books by my favorite authors, I pick up anything that looks like it might be good (how else do you find new favorite authors, right?).  Being the frugal person that I am try to be…I often get books on the cheap at the local Friends of the Library bookstore or Goodwill.  (Yes, I could check books out at the library, but then you have to remember to take them back…and I always forget…that tends to get me in a lot of trouble..you know those librarians…I’d rather have the school bully mad at me than have a librarian give me that cold librarian stare).

A few weeks ago, I bought several books at Goodwill.  One of those books was I Am Legend…you know, the one that they made into a movie starring Will Smith?  I must admit, I never saw the movie and hadn’t heard anything about it, so really had no idea what the book was about…but they made a movie out of it so someone must have thought it was good, right?  Oh my word…I started the book…and gave up on it, setting it aside in favor of another book.  Read a few more books, then came back to I Am Legend…having forgotten why I stopped reading it in the first place.  Started over, read a little until I could go no further.  Set it aside once again.  Read several more books until I had no books in the house that I hadn’t already read.  Kept seeing I Am Legend sitting there on the bedroom table.  I didn’t really want to pick it up, but being the voracious reader that I am, had to have something to read.  So I picked it up and forced myself to finish it.  And believe me when I tell you I had to force myself to finish it (heck, I had to force myself not to throw it across the room).

I was a little more than halfway through the book when there was an abrupt plot change.  I kept reading, thinking what in the world is going on here?  Kept reading, getting more and more confused…then it dawned on me…I had finished I Am Legend and was now reading short stories…sadly none of the short stories were any better than I Am Legend…thankfully today I managed to get out and buy some new (used) books to read…one of them by Lee Child…ahh…reading is a pleasure again.

6 Responses

  1. I felt exactly the same way when I read it. And I had no idea that I was reading a different story until I was halfway through the first short story. I had heard wonderful things about the book but after my disappointing experience with the book, I didn’t bother to see the Will Smith movie. I did finally finish the book but it mostly felt like an obligation at that point. And once I finished I promptly donated it to Goodwill! lol A few weeks ago though, I did catch the 1964 Vincent Price version of the movie, The Last Man on Earth, on television. It was both cheesy and awesome. Definitely better than the book!

    • It doesn’t say much for a book when you don’t even realize you’ve started reading a different story…sheesh…I didn’t see the movie either and I absolutely won’t…in my experience, the book is almost always better than the movie…so I wouldn’t have much hope for enjoying the movie…ah well…it doesn’t happen very often, thank goodness.

  2. Oh Patti! You have to get that Kindle! I felt you pain in this post!! When you do get your Kindle, there is a website called Ereader News Today that features all the books being offered for free. You can also find them on Facebook. I have downloaded so many books through them that I think if I stopped now I would never be at a loss for reading material the rest of my life. No returns or due dates, just books waiting on you! Oh the bliss! Some are by popular authors and others are new authors trying to get their work out there. So far I haven’t had any “l Am Legend” experiences!
    That said, I am reading an actual page turning paper book now (I swing both ways when it comes to books…or three ways…electronic, old fashioned paper and audio!) gotta have something to read!
    Do you remember the man who lived on Main Street across from the JayC store who was always sitting in his front room (i think it was more like a glassed in porch, because he was out there all seasons) reading? You could see him almost anytime you went by, day or night, and he always had a book! I always thought I wanted to do that when I grew up!

    • Thanks, Lisa! I do remember that guy on Main St…seems like a pretty good way to spend your retirement, doesn’t it?
      Believe it or not, I’m only about 300 points away from getting my FREE Kindle…I’m pretty excited about it. And I’ll definitely check out Ereader News Today.

  3. I got a book from the library recently, that someone recommended on a blog. It wasn’t worth the time, so it’s going back. At least I didn’t spend money on it.

    • Isn’t that one of the most frustrating things? Someone tells you a book is great, you take the time to pick it up, then you just have to force yourself to finish it…but yeah, at least you didn’t waste your money on it!!

Leave a Reply

