It’s January and I’m thinking about…gardening

Okay, you’re right…I live in Indiana, it’s in the teens right now.  Not the most conducive weather for gardening unless maybe you have a greenhouse, which I don’t (would love to someday tho).  But those seed catalogues have been coming in the mail every few days and I can just sit there and drool over all of the different varieties of tomatoes or lettuce, look at the new (to me anyhow) seeds that are available, and dream about what all I would plant if I only had a real live garden with room for lots and lots of plants.

Instead, I have a small patio and one small bed where I can grow my veggies.  It’s surprising how much produce I’m able to get from that tiny area.  And there’s not a lot of weeding to do.  But then that’s offset by the daily watering, I suppose.

So I’ll continue to peruse the seed catalogs, trying the new lettuce here or the new pepper there and just make the best of what space I do have.  It may be bitterly cold outside today, but I’m dreaming of warmer days and a new spring garden.

4 Responses

  1. It is that time of year for garden planning! Yours was so successful last year, I know you can’t wait to have fresh veggies again.

  2. I have never really started a garden, but I’ve want to the past few years. Maybe I’ll do a little patio garden like you.

    • You really should do it, Nikkianne…the taste (and convenience) of food you’ve grown yourself is out of this world…and I don’t think produce prices are going to be coming down any time soon, so it’s a good way to save some money on your grocery bills too.

Leave a Reply

