My relaxing final day of vacation

Ahh…don’t you just love being on vacation, staying home where you can get a few things done, get some rest, catch up with all of your activities?  Yeah…like it ever really happens that way.

I haven’t thoroughly cleaned the house during the time I’ve been off.  I didn’t go shoe shopping so I’ll still be wearing the same uncomfortable shoes at work tomorrow.  I didn’t write any extra blogs or do any blog research.  I didn’t get anything written in my book.

What did I do?  Well, I did get back to a daily exercise routine.  I did cook some healthy foods.  I did do some housework (just not everything I wanted to do).  I did get back on SparkPeople.com to track my exercise and nutrition.  So the vacation wasn’t a total loss.

This morning I went to the little gas station/convenience store just down the road to get a newspaper (wanted to read the sports page about IU’s win over Michigan last night).  When I came back out to my car, I went to put the key in the door lock to unlock it and noticed that the key was broken.  What?  It hasn’t felt like it was weakening or anything and it wasn’t hard to turn.  I was able to unlock the door because the broken off part of the key was still in the lock.  Of course I couldn’t start the car.  And did I have an extra key?  Uh…no…I hadn’t gotten around to that yet..argh!!

So I called the car dealership (thank goodness I’d brought my cell phone…had considered not bringing it), and they said they’d have a key waiting for me if I could find some way to get there.  I called one of my friends (thanks, Donna) and she came and picked me up to go get the key.  Once I got back to the car, I had to take it in to the dealer to get the broken key out of the lock.  Sounds easy, right?  Nope.  They couldn’t get it out with their tools so had to take the panel off and take the lock out…finally got it all put back together, got my new key and made it back home…only three and a half hours after I left on my short errand.

But now it’s fixed, ready to roll on in to work at 6 am…ahh…vacation…it was nice while I was on it…and to end this on a positive note, it was a gorgeous spring day here in Indiana today…oh wait, it’s January, isn’t it?

2 Responses

  1. I’ll settle for spring whatever month it wants to arrive! I did the exercise bike today, and kept the calories under control. That was a good feeling. Glad you were able to get your car & key taken care of today, before the weekend.

    • Good for you on the exercise bike and hitting your range on the calories…I did the same today…we’re rockin’ it!! This was another gorgeous day…I know it has to end some time, but I just keep thinking it’s April every time I walk outside…crazy!

Leave a Reply

