Calories burned…

Okay, I’ve been alternating between my treadmill and my exercise bike for cardio this week…I track everything on SparkPeople.com so I have a general idea of how many calories I’m burning with my exercise.  But I’m wondering if it’s really true that I’m burning more calories on the exercise bike than I am with walking…that seems counterintuitive…with walking, you’re supporting your entire body weight with each step you take.  On the exercise bike most of my body weight is on my butt…yes, I’m moving my legs faster and I do have the tension set a little past the comfortable range…but still…does that make sense to anyone?  Can someone (you know, you fitness experts out there) explain this for me?

I hate to admit this, but I ate too many calories today, no matter how many I burned…haha!!  In a way, going back to work will be a good thing…that doesn’t mean I’m jumping for joy at the prospects of an end to my little vacation here…but I do plan better, and stick to my plan better, when I’m working.  And all of that walking around all day doesn’t hurt with the calories burned either…

One thing I do miss, when I have to go to work, is the beautiful sunrise…

2 Responses

  1. Our bodies are used to walking, so we reach a fitness level for time spent, energy exerted. The bike uses the muscles differently, therefore making it more challenging. I know I can’t walk as fast as I can pedal, and adding the resistance boosts the burn. Nice sunrise!

Leave a Reply

